Book Review: The McGurk’s Bar Bombing

The McGurk's Bar BombingThe McGurk’s Bar Bombing: Collusion, Cover-Up and a Campaign for Truth with a foreword by Colin Wallace, just published by Frontline Noir, is the first book by Ciarán MacAirt, grandson of one of those killed in the bombing and  the most visible campaigner on behalf of the victims and their families. The book pulls together the results of Ciarán’s searches in various archives, responses to FOI requests and dealings with the Chief Constable of the PSNI and the Policing Ombudsman on behalf of the surviving victims and their families in what is still, at the time of publication, very much a live issue due to the incomplete nature of the Historical Enquiries Teams final report.

In that sense, this book is not solely a historical documenting of the events around the UVF bombing, the subsequent attempts to label it as an IRA own goal and the decades-long struggle to establish the facts. That will inevitably turn off readers who will only see a political imprint in the text, which is unfortunate, since MacAirt applies a methodology that others would other might do well to study (roll your sleeves up, dig deep, dig smart and keep digging). As an addition to the literature it is essential reading for any serious student of the North’s recent history.

Shorn of a reliance on the heavy mediated histories that have been published over the years, MacAirt uses contemporary reportage, survivor accounts, court, policing, parliamentary and other primary documents to produce thematic contextualisations of the bombing not just within the period following internment in the summer of 1971, but also within contemporary loyalism and counter-terrorist theory and practice. Significantly, departures in the documentation allow the source of the disinformation about the bombing to be identified (due to a recurring mistake in the address given for McGurk’s Bar). Previously disregarded evidence is identified (such as fingerprinting of the car used in the bomb run) and the whole is plausibly embedded in the application of internment in late 1971.

A review of the counter-insurgency work of Kitson, the MRF and others is also threaded through elements of the story. Colin Wallace, a witness to the Information Service activities of the time, provides a foreword and is acknowledged elsewhere for assistance in interpreting and translating documents which were either redacted for publication or simply buried amongst state papers.

Illustration is limited to a handful of maps, although it includes footnotes that might prompt the curious to find what they need on-line. At first glance, it also has a dissertation-like structure, but is actually interlaced with occasional literary snippets, Ciarán’s personalised reflections and a strong sense of the authors self-awareness in the midst of the material (I comfortably read the book in 3-4 sittings). I’m probably a bad judge as Ciarán went to school with my brother, we both have family connections to the New Lodge and pretty similar outlooks. At the same time, I can at least confirm that his voice is an authentic and authoritative one for the New Lodge/Antrim Road area of North Belfast that isn’t well represented in the canon of Troubles literature (Insider by Gerry Bradley being a notable exception).

Largely, this book documents how Ciarán and others sourced sufficient new material (from within the state’s archives) to demonstrate that even more recent state investigations into the circumstances of the bombing were incomplete. The limited co-operation from those on the loyalist side, former unionist politicians and the security forces also demonstrates how far we are from any realistic truth process even though the bombing happened in 1971. In that sense, books like Ciarán’s may end up being all we have and may become all the more important for that.

[Update: this thread is closed for comments, see final comment for a brief explanation.]

We are reader supported. Donate to keep Slugger lit!

For over 20 years, Slugger has been an independent place for debate and new ideas. We have published over 40,000 posts and over one and a half million comments on the site. Each month we have over 70,000 readers. All this we have accomplished with only volunteers we have never had any paid staff.

Slugger does not receive any funding, and we respect our readers, so we will never run intrusive ads or sponsored posts. Instead, we are reader-supported. Help us keep Slugger independent by becoming a friend of Slugger. While we run a tight ship and no one gets paid to write, we need money to help us cover our costs.

If you like what we do, we are asking you to consider giving a monthly donation of any amount, or you can give a one-off donation. Any amount is appreciated. 

179 thoughts on “Book Review: The McGurk’s Bar Bombing”

1. Which ‘facts’ and ‘logic’ have you provided Userainm?

The only factual evidence provided on this thread has been put forward by myself.

As for Davy, its nice of you to ‘know’ how a dead person would think – that’s quite a talent you have a cara.

2. Sorrel

If you check Bleach’s profile, you’ll see the span of time in which ‘he’ posts. Now, this includes in to the small hours of this morning which may make me wonder if this is an individual.

I’ve seen such activity when the UVF attacked Short Strand and the 10th anniversary of the Holy Cross hatred.

Draw four own conclusion guys.

3. Ah DDB you really are some boy, I purposefully said that I wouldn’t claim to know what he’d make of you. So that I couldn’t be accused by you of something like that.

You’re a one note song. Something no one could say about him but what people would say about dissident Republicans, and you.

4. If in doubt dispute the evidence and call the person a troll/bigot.

Lesson one in the Sinn Fein internet discussion manual.

5. drink the bleach…interesting that you are an apologist for the uvf whilst i researched the mc gurks murders i came upon the bombing of the four step inn on the shankill this outrage killed two people and injured many others(sept 1971)…this was a very puzzling crime …i wonder what your views on it are …my own belief is that it was carried out by the uvf and/or the security forces to create sectarian tensions and encourage tit for tat outrages the uvf also was not happy with the emergence of the uda as the protector of the protestant people and who were enjoying all the publicity of their impenetrable no go areas where they invited reporters to travel round the barricades manned by their members day and night …i`ll leave it with ya

6. Sorrel

I have been observing with interest until now but rather like those on this forum who claim it was the Brits who carried out Kingsmills with no real evidence to back it up are you not stooping to DDB’s level when you make the entirely new allegation to me at least that the Four Step Inn bomb was anything less than a less successful precurosr of the very same type of indiscriminate sectarian attack carried out by the UVF at McGurks except you are trying to rewrite history with the benefit of 40 years of unblinkered and unblurred at least until now hindsight?

7. andnowwhat
    yes it does seem like its different people either that or he/she dosent read the other posts…had to laugh when he says hes the only one posting facts yet nothing he says can be substantiated ..something about him/her reminds me of that great loyalist orator winston winkle irvine

8. peter brown
    check out the bombing it really is puzzling ….the shankill was virtually a no go area for strangers this can be verified.. the bomb planted was 75-100lbs that is some weight and to carry it unnoticed into a packed public house at that time in that area was near to impossible…no one to my knowledge ever claimed responsibility thats not to say it wasnt the ira but if we had a proper truth commission who knows what would come out of it …but my belief is what ive said it was uvf/security forces

9. Okay,let me see if I’ve got this right ?
    DDB openly supports ‘loyalist’ terrorists……..the usual suspects go ape shit,Troll Alert,scum of the earth.
    Meanwhile our very own republican cheerleaders go unmolested,unchallenged,and clapped on the back.

I see.
    The hypocrisy is ranker than I,at first,thought !

10. Sorrel

Good man – for a moment there I thought you had no hard facts to base this on.

The irony (some might say hypocrisy) of making this to my mind total unique and novel allegation on a thread about the misinformation about McGurks is lost on you is it?

11. Heinz and Peter,

You are both correct, Sorrel that has nothing really to do with this and weakens your argument. Stay on point straying off weakens your argument.

12. Peter brown
    no not lost on me far from it…i wouldnt describe it as misinformation im deducing from what information i gleaned and making an assumption…probably totally wrong but im willing to accept being proven wrong in the face of facts unlike mr bleach..do you get me..as they say

13. sorrel:
    …interesting that you are an apologist for the uvf whilst i researched the mc gurks murders i came upon the bombing of the four step inn on the shankill this outrage killed two people and injured many others(sept 1971)…this was a very puzzling crime …i wonder what your views on it are …my own belief is that it was carried out by the uvf and/or the security forces to create sectarian tensions and encourage tit for tat outrages the uvf also was not happy with the emergence of the uda as the protector of the protestant people and who were enjoying all the publicity of their impenetrable no go areas where they invited reporters to travel round the barricades manned by their members day and night …i`ll leave it with ya

It’s obvious that you are new to online political debates (and the English language, punctuation and grammar in general) but there are a few rules to stick by if you wish to contribute successfully:

1, Provide evidence to back up your points
    2, Stay clear of anecdotal stories if you can’t prove them
    3, Don’t resort to name-calling when you haven’t got a counter argument
    4, Never start a sentence with ‘Whatabout…’
    5, Show respect for other posters even if you don’t agree with them
    6, Don’t let bitterness, personal feelings and bigotry cloud your judgement
    7, Stick to debating the topic at hand
    8, Try to start sentences with capital letters

Apart from all those you’re doing a grand job a chara.

14. Is one a rampant militant republican simply for objecting to the UVF blowing up innocent people and the police lying about said fact?

Astonishing

15. andnowwhat:
    If you check Bleach’s profile, you’ll see the span of time in which ‘he’ posts. Now, this includes in to the small hours of this morning which may make me wonder if this is an individual.

I’ve seen such activity when the UVF attacked Short Strand and the 10th anniversary of the Holy Cross hatred.

Draw four own conclusion guys.

Coming from the PROVEN LIAR

http://www.politics.ie/forum/northern-ireland/193811-slugger-otoole-discussion-forum-ego-trip-39.html#post5650848

The guy who claims to have been in a wheelchair for the past twenty years and needs to use ‘Dragon Dictate’ to be able to post on Slugger…..

…..also single-handedly beat up much feared Belfast street fighter (and Sinn Fein stabbing victim) Robert McCartney while working as a city centre doorman.

Kepp ’em tall tales coming Eskrimador….

16. drink the bleach
    whatabout (oops there goes rules 4 an 8 an grammar) you taking a leaf outta yer own book as per rules 1,2,3,5,6,7 an rule 9 grow a pair a balls and condemn loyalist atrocities and before you ask..i condemn all murders

17. Rule 7 – Stick to the topic at hand.

What I think about McGurks has absolutely nothing to do with Ciaran’s book.

18. Bleach exposes himself as a black carded poster on Slugger.

As for the accusation, I said something I should not have on another site and cannot comment any further.

19. drink the bleach
    youre just like any other common or garden bigot when confronted with facts and provided with sources to investigate you don the tunnel vision glasses and creep round the subject creating a smokescreen…do you even take time to read other peoples views..sorry i forgot youve got your glasses on ..for instance does page 17 ring any bells ?

20. point is i have truth which is a counter argument opposed to your lies rule 10 smokescreens when you have no answers

21. I’m struggling to work out what the actual topic of this thread is at this stage.

Loyalists went for an al qaeda style no-warning bombing and the security forces blamed the Provos. What’s the latest revisionism on this?

22. and youve broken rule7 ….what i think of mc gurks has nothing to do with the book…isnt that what the thread started with…the book

23. know what drink the bleach ? your piss poor at arguing are you googling every time you post? you are def rubbish

24. see ..every time without fail when you are confronted with something you become uncomfortable and break rule 7 …you cant handle the truth

25. Seriously DDB?

I’ve had chewing gum stuck to my foot, that has more morals than you. I think it’s time to ignore you. My only hope is, that Mick realises the levels you wish to lower Slugger to, and that you are rightfully ‘Black Carded’. Anyone reading this who feels the same, judge my comment and agree. Call it a Slugger poll…

And just to add my tuppence worth: I think sorrel’s called it well. The Shankill UVF have entered the World of Slugger en masse.

26. Mick/mods/powers that be,

There are some fairly consistent complaints that people here are sock puppets or black carded commenters returned with a witty new soubriquet. It’s a bit of a thread hijack and I’ll happily have this removed to be asked elsewhere if pointed in the right direction. But how do I know for example that the DDB I’m arguing with isn’t say Cruimh fooling around or that Tupper isn’t Lamhdearg2? Or that I’m not someone else entirely? I’m having a bit of an existential crisis here.

Jokes aside, do you ban IP’s? Or how do you really know that someone is carded?

27. Lads, if this is what you have to resort to to silence someone you disagree with it says more about you than me.

I have backed up everything I have claimed with evidence – both in the thread about Billy Hunter (five days research in Belfast central library BTW) and in this thread about the IRA opening fire on the McGurks rescue teams (which probably resulted in a higher death toll).

If you are unable to counter my points or debate in an adult manner then DON’T REPLY to my posts. Name-calling (bigot, troll, etc) and begging the moderator to ban me just makes you look immature, Stalin-like and incapable of mature discussion.

Any outsider reading this thread will clearly see the problem lies not with me – but with those who are unable to fathom that some people don’t naively accept the Sinn Fein revisionist version of events around certain incidents (McGurks, ‘Bloody Sunday’, St Patricks, etc).

Also, I have never been black carded on this site so that ‘angle’ won’t work either.

Grow up FFS.

28. DDB

Do you condemn the McGurk’s bomb?

Do you also accept that the UVF are nothing more than drug-dealing scumbags, who have let down the memory of David Ervine?

Let’s call a spade a spade and have this adult conversation shall we?

29. Your questions have NOTHING to do with Ciaran’s book or John’s review of it.

Stay on topic!

30. DDB

Do you condemn the McGurk’s bomb?

Do you also accept that the UVF are nothing more than drug-dealing scumbags, who have let down the memory of David Ervine?

Let’s call a spade a spade and have this adult conversation shall we?

31. DDB,

Five days research came up with one list of articles, that you put in five days I’ll credit you, that it took you five days not so much. Like I said then you gave us a list that told us nothing. Anyway here’s the numbers again re DDB and the Billy Hunter vs Irish News

Here are the Billy Hunter facts again (based on your research)

He was in the Irish News
    23 times
    In 565 issues
    10 front pages
    Which was 1.7% of front pages in that time
    44 articles
    3 of which were letters to the ed
    113 weeks
    but still only 4% of issues
    1.7% of front pages
    8 month gap Jun 11 – Feb 12
    not much of a campaign

I promise you DDB every time you try and say you proved anything this will come up.

32. Seriously, try and stay on topic.

The McGurks families have serious questions to answer here regarding the behaviour of the IRA on that fateful night and the families’ subsequent ‘close relationship’ with Sinn Fein.

Dragging Billy Hunter, the UVF, Four Step Inn bombing into this is pointless and will not help us get the answers we require from the families.

33. DDB

3.03 am:

Lads, if this is what you have to resort to to silence someone you disagree with it says more about you than me.
    I have backed up everything I have claimed with evidence – both in the thread about Billy Hunter (five days research in Belfast central library BTW) and in this thread about the IRA opening fire on the McGurks rescue teams (which probably resulted in a higher death toll).

You brought it up you beautiful maniac, petard hoisted

34. DDB/UVF

Do you have any other articles or links, other than the PO’s report, to your bad attempt of distortion? I can’t find any online. Either the internet doesn’t go back that far, or someone’s telling porkies.

35. UserAinm:
    You brought it up you beautiful maniac, petard hoisted

No, he has been mentioned numerous times already in this thread.

Let’s stick to getting some answers from the McGurks families, shall we?

36. galloglaigh:
    Do you have any other articles or links, other than the PO’s report, to your bad attempt of distortion? I can’t find any online. Either the internet doesn’t go back that far, or someone’s telling porkies.

Is the Police Ombudsman’s report not good enough for you?

Is that because it reveals some uncomfortable truths about the behaviour of IRA gunmen as British Army peacekeepers and police officers scrambled with their bare hands to find survivors?

Do you only accept evidence you agree with?

37. DDB

I didn’t say it wasn’t good enough, I asked you had you any other articles or links.

I can’t find any on Google. I also tried a number of academic search engines: I got zero results. That usually means one thing. That is why I believe you are being disingenuous. I seek further reading to make a judgement either way.

Now…

38. Sock puppets, like trolls, pop up from time to time on Slugger, just like any other blog site.
    It is not reasonable to expect Mick to check all IP addresses to identify them. Nor is there anything explicit in the rules banning them.
    The only smart way to deal with trolls or sock puppet trolls is to ignore them. They take their pleasure from riling up other people. If they are ignored, they move elsewhere to get their “pleasure”.

39. Again, I didn’t say it wasn’t adequate. Twice, and for the third, can you please lead me to some more articles or links. Surely, as was said before, again and again, this must have been reported: In a newspaper; a radio bulletin; a book etc. etc. What page of the PO’s report deals with the IRA firing on the rescue team? It has to be in there?

So let’s try one more time: Can you point me in the directing of some further reading. I seek to make a judgement either way, as to whether or not you’re being disingenuous.

40. OK

Shall I try for a fourth time? Other than the PO’s report, has it been reported anywhere else? Surely it was in the papers; on the radio; on the CAIN website maybe?

Sit up straight, concentrate, and pay attention.

What I require from you, is further evidence, other than the link you provided. The link you provided earlier, is a Slugger thread. I went to the link there, and I found a PO press release: Investigative bias undermined police inquiry: Police Ombudsman . You see the problem I have, is that I read, and re-read that link, and nowhere, yes nowhere does it say that the rescue team came under IRA gunfire. I went further, and opened the PDF of the 80 page document, found at the bottom of the press release. I used the PDF search tools for ‘IRA’, and 53 times it showed up. Not once did the report mention the rescue team coming under IRA gunfire.

That is why I would like some more information.

41. Now just to put you straight again, remember rule number 1: Provide evidence to back up your points. And don’t forget rule number 2: Stay clear of anecdotal stories if you can’t prove them. And then last but not least, it’s rule number 6: Don’t let bitterness, personal feelings, and bigotry cloud your judgement…

Apart from all those you’re doing a grand job a chara 🙂 🙂 🙂

42. PLEASE PEOPLE READ THIS…….regarding the ombudsmans report there is no mention of the rescuers coming under attack and that includes the het report…bleach says its on p17 he is a liar..as i have posted before p17 concerns the ruc duty officers reports 5-6 december1971 and p17 of the het report refers to the book killing for britain by john black…if anyone could guide me posting fotos of the reports i would be happy to oblige and to prove what a liar bleach is

43. I’m not quite sure what else I can provide apart from a screen grab of page 17 of the Police Ombudsman’s report into the McGurks incident:

http://imageshack.us/a/img217/4354/picture3xys.png

No doubt our resident IRA supporters will still fail to believe their ‘heroes’ would open fire on police and peacekeepers trying to rescue dying and injured people from the rubble.

I guess they can never be convinced though…

44. OK

Shall I try for a fifth time? Other than the PO’s report, has it been reported anywhere else? Surely it was in the papers; on the radio; on the CAIN website maybe?

Sit up straight, concentrate, and pay attention.

What I require from you, is further evidence, other than the link you provided. The link you provided earlier, is a Slugger thread. I went to the link there, and I found a PO press release: Investigative bias undermined police inquiry: Police Ombudsman . You see the problem I have, is that I read, and re-read that link, and nowhere, yes nowhere does it say that the rescue team came under IRA gunfire. I went further, and opened the PDF of the 80 page document, found at the bottom of the press release. I used the PDF search tools for ‘IRA’, and 53 times it showed up. Not once did the report mention the rescue team coming under IRA gunfire.

That is why I would like some more information.

Now just to put you straight again, remember rule number 1: Provide evidence to back up your points. And don’t forget rule number 2: Stay clear of anecdotal stories if you can’t prove them. And then last but not least, it’s rule number 6: Don’t let bitterness, personal feelings, and bigotry cloud your judgement…

Apart from all those you’re doing a grand job a chara 🙂 🙂 🙂

45. galloglaigh:
    What I require from you, is further evidence, other than the link you provided.

Why?

Why is the PO report not good enough for you?

Do you think it’s lies?

46. No because it doesn’t mention any IRA attack on the rescuers. Can’t you see that? You obviously haven’t read it… I have!

I do know what’s lies though – your erroneous statement!

47. galloglaigh:
    No because it doesn’t mention any IRA attack on the rescuers.

I get the feeling I could go up to Milltown, dig up the rotted corpse of Bobby Sands, bring him back to life and have him tell you (in pidgin long kesh Irish, of course) that what I am saying is true – and you still wouldn’t believe it.

The evidence has been provided on multiple occasions. If you do not believe the Police Ombudsman’s report the onus is on you to provide credible evidence to the contrary.

I’m away to work so you’ve got a few hours to get diggin’ ah charra.

48. Ok, there is no evidence – DDB – you’ve had people identify the error in how you’ve read the ombudsman report and been put straight by eyewitness and other accounts. You either have to stomach you are wrong and move on, or get carded for trolling.

49. You see that’s a cop out. Point me to the appendix/page number on the report, where it says the rescuers came under IRA gunfire. The report doesn’t say it. It’s there in black and white!

http://www.policeombudsman.org/Publicationsuploads/McGurk%27s—Final-Report.pdf

There’s a link. Read it and please try harder… Your argument is weaker than West Coast Cooler!

The report doesn’t say what you reckon it does say. Either that or you are reading a different report…

So… Page number, and even a quote. If it’s there I’ll believe you. Unfortunately for you – It’s not there.

You’re pissing in the wind!

50. Cmon people let it drop bleach has been found wanting ..all he is doing is winding people up concerning the non existant attack on the rescuers..take it from someone who was there and ive also made it my business to find out as much as i can about the atrocity…bigotry is blind to the truth

51. I have provided the evidence on multiple occasions. Either our IRA supporters are unable to read or they cannot accept FACTS.

And John, as much as you might disagree, the drunken Friday night ramblings of an anonymous person on the internet who claims to be an eyewitness is no match for the official Police Ombudsman’s report.

if someone wants to provide evidence it was someone else firing into the McGurks rubble (and not the IRA) then I’m all ears.

52. “The limited co-operation from those on the loyalist side, former unionist politicians and the security forces also demonstrates how far we are from any realistic truth process”

John, it would be a bit rich to card anyone for trolling when you’ve left out other participants to the Troubles who are at least as unlikely to co-operate. This one-sided approach is more than likely to get an emotional response from respondents; it’s most unlikely to provide illumination.

53. Sorry everyone but if you go to the links provided by DDB now g it is there in paragraph 7.11 on p17 of the pdf numbered p13 of the report – what he has yet to rpovide is any conclusive Hillsborough standard evidence that this withdrawal caused deaths as all of even the crush injuries could have caused death instantly and the smoke inhalation too could have been fatal prior to any allegedg shooting so stop all of you going round in circles!

54. Nevis, that is in reference to the research for the book that this was reviewing, not a general comment. Don’t tell you are going to descend into misreading with intent as well?

55. Peter, I have never said the forced withdrawal of police DEFINITELY caused a higher death toll.

I have said it is ‘likely’, ‘possible’, ‘may have’, etc.

As only one of the fifteen victims died instantly, there remains a possibilty some of the other fourteen COULD HAVE been saved had the IRA not opened fire on the scene.

As with any tragedy like this, La Mon, Abercorn, etc – the quicker the rescue operation succeeds, the more chance there is of saving lives.

56. Defending a convicted sectarian double murderer. check
    Attacking the victims of a horrific bombing. check

What is the criteria for being on DDB’s right side?

Say it isnt so…..he’s a bigot and a hate monger.

Best to just ignore him.

57. “not a general comment.”

John, ‘how far we are from any realistic truth process’ is, indeed, a very general comment. I won’t react to ‘descend into misreading with intent’ 😉

58. I haven’t said a single negative thing about the victims of the McGurks bombing.

I simply believe their families should be focusing their ‘quest for justice’ on the IRA gunmen who hampered the rescue and possibly caused some people, who otherwise might have been saved, to die.

Also, the families should not be taking part in parades and commemorations glorifying sectarian IRA murderers as they recently did in Dungiven.

59. the report mentions shooting in the vicinity and that was half a mile away where major snow was shot at the riot near duncairn
    gdns…oh what fun piss artists like bleach would have had had the rescuers been shot at or even attacked in any way as for dungiven grow a pair and go on the website and ask or contact the author …dont forget to tell what was said

60. DDB you’ve just labelled the Ira sectarian killers…which I believe they were.yet according to you the Uda and uvf are heroes…yet they openly admitted to targeting people who were innocent simply because of their religion. From teenage girls to grandmothers to schoolboys.
    what’s it like to be genuinely mentally ill? Did you learn your sectarian hatred at your fathers knee? Tell us

61. The report says the rescue teams had to withdraw ‘from the scene’ after coming under fire.

No doubt it was Loyalist gunmen (trained and armed by MI5, Special Branch and Margaret Thatcher) who had infiltrated the New Lodge mob to shoot at police to make the IRA look bad…

That sounds about right…

62. What difference would condemnation from an anonymous internet poster make?

I’m not a politician.

63. No, you’re a loyalist paramilitary…or perhaps one of the thousands of inbred bigots that support them through fear, ignorance, our both.

64. page 13 po report.”.within two hours of the explosion serious disorder had broken out in the vicinity.records show that at one point during the rescue operation police personnel were fired upon and had to withdraw from the scene.an army major was shot and fatally wounded.four civilians and two police officers were also shot” (.IN THE VICINITY)..confirming this is the het report of police records…. duty officers…chief supt liggett..insp weatherall..insp mills..insp atkins…para (8) at 8.45pm on sat 4th dec an explosion occurred at mcgurks ,83 gt georges st etc…at 9.25 pm a hostile crowd of 400 to 500 gathered in north queen street and moved towards duncairn gdns. a confrontation took place with a crowd from the tigers bay area and at approx 10.07 a full scale riot took place.a number of windows in private houses and business premises were damaged. the rioting was interspersed with shooting until approx 10.20pm,and in the course of which the following persons were injured by gunfire….1 const mervyn wilson..2 r\const gerald glendinning…3 james josh…thomas molloy..major jeremy snow..6 sergeant henderson..7 john purse….at approx 10.40pm, the rioting crowds were dispersed by military and police but sporadic shooting contd in the newington st, nrth queen st and new lodge areas until about midnight. no other reports of injuries or damage except that a nail bomb was thrown at 10.45pm at an army vehicle in duncairn gdns causing slight damage to the vehicle. bleach i dont believe youre stupid you know fine rightly that the shooting referred to is at the riots half a mile from the explosion…as i said before you are a shit stirrer and i stand by my opinion that you an apologist for the uvf scum and a bigot

65. Lads, I have never seen such a blatant example of troll feeding as is going on here. DDB has managed to sidetrack this entire thread and it’s being allowed to go on. I’m out.

66. That’s seems as good a point as any to close this thread to comments.

For anyone who has been frustrated by the comments themselves – there are plenty of documented accounts, from the book reviewed in the original post, the contemporary newspaper reports and the various RUC, PSNI and OPONI reports, and despite the claims made by some posters above (and given credence by other commenters, even when contradicted by posts from actual eyewitnesses), no shots were fired at McGurks Bar after the bomb exploded – the soldiers present dumped arms in a Humber Pig (apart from one who accounts describe as taking up a defensive position to cover the rest) and joined the locals and emergency services attempting to locate and extract the dead injured and dying from the wreckage of he bar. There were shots fired elsewhere in the New Lodge (which fatally wounded Major Jeremy Snow, who died a few days later). A keepsake account of his regiment’s tour of duty in Belfast is cited by Ciarán in the book and it makes no reference to coming under fire at the Bar either.

The only reason I let the comments go on so long is that it became an accidental illustration of the extraordinary impact disinformation, controlled and distorted communication flows have had on perceptions of truth and reality.

Comments are closed.