Saturday, February 25, 2006
RTE reporter attacked and called “Orange Bastard”
RTE have just put out a few words from their injured reporter Charlie Bird, who was pursued by rioters, attacked and called “Orange Bastard” by his attackers. Several people have been arrested and put before the courts already. It may be interesting to see precisely who turns up there over the next few days. Republican Sinn Fein denies being involved, but blames the Unionists for provoking the riots.
Mick Fealty @ 08:08 PM
Charlie looked pretty shaken up when initally interviewed and it was clear that only for Special Branch intervention he might have been seriously hurt. He also stated that journalists seemed to be deliberately singled out for attention, which seems surprisng.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 08:16 PMHe’s not the only one either Pat. We’ve heard from one journalist who was threatened (though not attacked) in no uncertain terms too.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 08:24 PMIt would appear the dissidents have been planning this one for quite a while.
Interesting comments from Bertie Ahern, suggesting that some northern dissidents had their ranks swelled by undesirables from the locality, eager to partake in any civil disturbances.
In any case, I’d imagine the dissidents will actually chalk this one up as a ‘success,’ thereby indicating how far removed they are from the republican political mainstream.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 08:28 PMI had the dubious pleasure of being on the ground on O’Connell Street before this kicked off and during the early part of it. Not pleasant at all.
It was clear to me from about 12.15 that there was going to be trouble - gangs of young guys, many wearing those ‘IRA - Undefeated Army” t-shirts were roaming around, giving and getting instructions on mobile phones.
Some were carrying fireworks and quite a few also seemed to be drinking.
The parade was never going to make it as far as the GPO, never mind Leinster House.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 08:32 PMWell, in calling Charlie Bird an “Orange Bastard”, you’ve got proof positive that the rioters were primarily northern dissidents rather than people from the Republic. This whole episode is an embarressment to the island as a whole.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 08:33 PMIf this constitutes what nationalist/republican folk mean by cherishing all the children of the nation equally in a 32 county state, I’ll be giving it a bye ball...thanks all the same!
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 08:47 PMI would like to see Irish democrats having a protest against the riot along the same route next week.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 08:51 PMi witnessed much of the rioting and it was the same story with any dublin disturbance:a few people actually commited to the cause (in this case sinn fein men) throw a few stones then every junkie and scumbag within a radius of ten miles arrives lookin for a mill.most of the rioters i saw were alcoholics and tracksuited knackers just off the ballybough bus.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 08:55 PMRealist-
You know perfectly well that true republicans and nationalists have given no support whatsoever to these scumbags. Check out our site for proof of that. These idiots do more harm to the concept of a united Ireland than anyone else could.
NorthernFF-
Would that be the Undefeated Army t-shirt available on the Sinn Féin website? Hopefully no provos were involved, but I suppose the proof of the pudding will be in the eating. It would seem that RSF were the orchestrators, but who knows what idiots were tagging along.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 08:59 PMI have to say I had no idea that Charlie Bird was either an orangeman or illegitimate, but I do know that this incident, (which appears to have made the shinners look soft for gawds sake) has set the cause of persauding any shade of unionism into a united Ireland back about 50 years.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 09:02 PMBuilding An Ireland of Equals ?
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 09:13 PM“united ireland back about 50 years” yada yada yada. Heres the elephant in the room: unionists were/are never going to volunteer for ui. So what are we going to do when it gets to 50+1. say pwetty pweease Mr Frazer. What happened today was some idiots playing at munich in the 20’s for airtime (apologies for the analogy godfrey/godwin or whatever to feck your name is.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 09:20 PM“If this constitutes what nationalist/republican folk mean by cherishing all the children of the nation equally in a 32 county state, I’ll be giving it a bye ball...thanks all the same!”
Realist
I was expecting this response from unionists looking to make a point. Jeffrey Donaldson, Michael Copeland and many others on this site have been quick out of the blocs in this regard, looking to use this incident as justification for being against a united Ireland.
Jeffrey Donaldson even managed to somehow link the riot to Sinn Fein’s demand for northern representation in Leinster House- ludicrous!
Firstly, if you are against a united Ireland and thereby in favour of a union with Britain, then the strength of your own political opinion should be enough reason to oppose Irish unity.
Constantly seeking justifications for your political opinions only suggests that they have less than firm foundations.
The behaviour of the rioters in Dublin today was absolutely wrong on many levels for any republican. Today should have been about allowing unionists to take their case to the nation’s capital and parade to their hearts content without interference.
That we are instead discussing the violent scenes visited upon Dublin today is a real shame, and once again an indication of how out of touch the dissidents are with republican sentiment.
But let’s not try to exaggerate the significance of this episode: Love Ulster-ites marching through Dublin wasn’t going to convince any unionists of the merits of a united Ireland today, just as the ability or otherwise of republicans to parade through London (unhindered) or Edinburgh (facing violence) is not going to persuade nationalists of the merits of maintaining the union with Britain.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 09:23 PMShure, Pat, you and the rest of your brave, bould army are just going to knock over those Jaffas when der tag comes. The only thing that puzzles me is why you haven’t done it sooner. It’ll be a piece of cake . . . [Yawns into red, white and blue infinity]
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 09:25 PMPat McL “He also stated that journalists seemed to be deliberately singled out for attention, which seems surprisng.” Not a all this is typical fascist behaviour, trying to stop the media reporting the story in a balanced way.
Nothern FF “It would appear the dissidents have been planning this one for quite a while.”. Indeeed petrol boms and skips filled with bottles don’t appear from thin air. Once again it demonstrates how impotent the SF/IRA leadership is in influencing elements with the Irish repblican ranks.
Keith G “Well, in calling Charlie Bird an “Orange Bastard”, you’ve got proof positive that the rioters were primarily northern dissidents”. Au contraire, Charlie Bird is an instantly recognizable person in this country, but hardly known in N.I.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 09:25 PMPat - That’s not one of my quotes. I didn’t mention dissis.
Among what I pointed out was the fact that quite a number of the people I saw limbering up for the fight were wearing IRA - Undefeated Army t-shirts.
And yes El Matador, they were the same ones taht caused the broohaha on the PSF website.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 09:31 PMActually Pat you might be surprised—there certainly are a small (if undoubtedly quiet) clique of unionists (with a small u) who would seriously consider a UI. I should point out that I’m not one of them, but I do know people whose attitude is ‘I really wouldn’t care if there was a UI as long as I’m left alone to get on with my life.’ Incidents such as today’s little kickoff are unlikely to swell the ranks of this little club.
50 + 1 won’t be tomorrow or next year or even next decade and rather than endless elections to the money-pit assembly, there should be a border poll held every five years or so.Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 09:32 PMPMC 2:
“Keith G “Well, in calling Charlie Bird an “Orange Bastard”, you’ve got proof positive that the rioters were primarily northern dissidents”. Au contraire, Charlie Bird is an instantly recognizable person in this country, but hardly known in N.I.”
Isn’t that the point he was trying to make? Bird would not be recognised as a RTÉ reporter by the rioting fools and therefore was attacked by them on the assumption that he was a supporter of LU/FAIR?
“Once again it demonstrates how impotent the SF/IRA leadership is in influencing elements with the Irish repblican ranks.”
Sinn Féin have no control whatsoever over RSF. The two groups hate each other. Don’t think Gerry has any pull over RSF members. It’s ridiculous to suggest SF is impotent in controlling elements within the republican ranks. 300 people could have been many thousands if SF hadn’t specifically called for no protests to be held.
-Manc
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 09:34 PMJeffrey Donaldson srikes me as soft-DUP, and I actually thought it quite witty of him when he said: “ Northern Nationalists would like us to have speaking rights inside the Dail, and I can’t even speak outside the Dail ”
He was also quick to say the rioters were a lunatic fringe, so fair play to him.Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 09:35 PMBird would not be recognised as a RTÉ reporter by the rioting fools and therefore was attacked by them on the assumption that he was a supporter of LU/FAIR?
No, they addressed him by name so they knew exactly who he was.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 09:37 PMFair enough Henry94. Not getting much news coverage over here at the minute so the details are still a bit sketchy for me.
-Manc
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 09:39 PMkarl interesting handle as your namesake is apparently under pressure and on the way out
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 09:39 PMcharlie bird an orange bastard? no, a provie bastard, yes.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 09:53 PMLets look for the positives gerrylvscastro. no nationalist politicians/leaders were out warning of and predicting armagedoon over this march/demonstration and dublin is not tonight wracked with gunbattles and mayhem over the right to march. it would be unfair to be too critical.it was just maniacs and counter-maniacs
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 10:22 PMI was expecting this response from unionists looking to make a point.
And what?, haven’t Unionists the right to make valid points?
You’re essentaily complaining that unionists are using the fact that some people called people orange bastards as a reason to call them sectarian....
( are there no levels those filthy orange bastards wont stoop to, eh?)
Jeffrey Donaldson, Michael Copeland and many others on this site have been quick out of the blocs in this regard, looking to use this incident as justification for being against a united Ireland.
Jesus man, can you hear yourself?
They have every right to feel this way, everything they said has been proven correct.And I’ll tell you what else, you are making things a hell of a lot worse by your attitude.
Jeffrey Donaldson even managed to somehow link the riot to Sinn Fein’s demand for northern representation in Leinster House- ludicrous!
Is there anything a unionist could say or do that you wouldn’t find ludicrous?
Firstly, if you are against a united Ireland and thereby in favour of a union with Britain, then the strength of your own political opinion should be enough reason to oppose Irish unity.
But peoples opinions tend to be shaped by their experiences, no?
Constantly seeking justifications for your political opinions only suggests that they have less than firm foundations.
I have the feeling that after today, a lot of peoples fears of a united Ireland have been rooted in very firm foundations for a long time to come.
Rather than dismiss those fears as unreasonable, you ought to do something about dispelling them.But let’s not try to exaggerate the significance of this episode: Love Ulster-ites marching through Dublin wasn’t going to convince any unionists of the merits of a united Ireland today,
You really are out of touch.It wasn’t about convincing people of the merits of a united Ireland, it was a chance to create an atmposphere in which you would have the opportunity to try and persuade over the coming years.
The only way a united ireland will be viable (regardless of any vote in the six counties) is through persuading unionists.
It’s a long dierty job, but someones got to do it.The pity is that not only has no started to do the job, but it just got a little bit harder.just as the ability or otherwise of republicans to parade through London (unhindered) or Edinburgh (facing violence) is not going to persuade nationalists of the merits of maintaining the union with Britain.
A silly comparison to make.
Posted by on Feb 25, 2006 @ 10:25 PM