18 Doughty
Street

Highly recommended:

More books...

Syndicate

RSS 1.0 RSS 2.0 Atom

Saturday, February 25, 2006

March called off after violent clashes with Gardai

As both the BBC and RTÉ report, the march in Dublin, organised by Willie Frazer and FAIR, has been called off after a counter-demonstration by Republican Sinn Féin descended into violent confrontation with Gardai officers, the BBC report that journalists were also attacked.  Irish blogs cover it too, with some photos at the Dossing Times - lifting an image from the Dublin traffic cameras site - and Back Seat Driver Dick O’Brien provides an eye-witness account

Pete Baker @ 03:35 PM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 1 of 6 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »
  1. listen live on http://www.newstalk.ie/

Posted by spirit-level on Feb 25, 2006 @ 03:57 PM
  2. Fair play to Sky and the highest standards of journalism. The anchor said that the clashes were between the loyalists and Irish police. From what everybody else reports.

Whatever the context, thats just so wonderfully incorrect, eejits. Any unionists so offended that you want to bombard them with complaints or threats of legal action?

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:00 PM
  3. I must say, im in 2 minds about this.
    Firstly, being born and raised in Ardoyne I wouldn’t have had any reservations about joining in on this myself, done it at during Holy Cross and im not ashamed of that.
    However, the fallout form this will indoubtedly put a UI back 10 years, not to mention slow the peace prcoess down further (if thats possible). Shouldn’t have turned on the Gardai though, should have waited on the b*****ds marchin and got into them!!!!
    SAOIRSE!!!!!!

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:04 PM
  4. Yokel

SkyNews has an accurate report on their website

s-l

That link is at the Dossing Times.

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:04 PM
  5. Clearly organized riots by scumbag vermin. I hope Sinn Fein will come out and say quite clearly that these people must be arrested and prosecuted to the full extent of the law.

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:05 PM
  6. 10 years back Sean from what, from at least 75 to 85 years? We’ll all be dead by then, probably from Northerner Disease caused by over-frequent complaining that we are oppressed by whoever and that its someone elses fault...I doubt it will put anything back pr forward, people in Ireland will retreat into their natural sides in interpreting this violence.

I just find it a little strange that republicans and loyalists can March into Belfast City Centre, and into London but Unionists can’t seem to march in Dublin.

Pete, their anchor screwed up rightly. It was poor. Bob McCartney could sue, I haven’t seen him doing much else.....someone should flash the bat symbol into the Sky to call him out...McCartney Man and his sidekick Bob Boy.  Yes they are one and the same, Bob’s always be on his own, he likes it that way.

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:13 PM
  7. Republican Sinn Féin seriously need to catch themselves on. What are they playing at, staging a counter-demonstraton? It would have much better to leave well alone, but no, RSF and their rent-a-hood organisation have to go and snatch defeat from the jaws of victory.

Well done lads. Any wonder your share of the vote is 0.002% .

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:14 PM
  8. LOL!!

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:22 PM
  9. Get your facts rights Yokel, Republicans cannot march into Belfast city centre at all, sure the RUC for years tried to stop Republican marches around Reublican areas!!!!!
    The march was orcharstrated by an anti-Catholic man for an anti_Catholic agenda. I doubt we’d see a SF march in London.

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:24 PM
  10. ‘I hope Sinn Fein will come out and say quite clearly that these people must be arrested and prosecuted to the full extent of the law.’

The rush to get SF onto the thread didn’t take long. What happened today is the sole responsibility of those who organised a coat trailing, provocative march and those who carried out the violence.
    So step forward Frazier, Donaldson et al and those connected to RSF.

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:25 PM
  11. This is only a tiny minority of Southerners. Indeed I question where these protesters actually come from. However, ‘Love Ulster’ could have been more sensitive in their choice of route. The route I understand was to start at the Garden of Remembrance (monument to war of independence), and continues past the GPO (HQ of 1916 rebels). There is reason to believe provocation may have been intentional.

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:26 PM
  12. From ireland.com updated 3.15

Several cars are ablaze just 50 yards from the entrance to the National Gallery as the scene is becoming increasingly dangerous with a growing risk of buildings catching fire.

Rioters are on the scene with more making their way south to join their number. Riot police have sealed off Kildare Street. Mounted police are also on the scene.

Around 300 have gathered at the Nassau St end of Kildare St and threw missiles at gardai.

Serious damage was also caused at Pearse train station as youths went brought their rampage south of the River Liffey.

Up to 50 Garda reinforcements arrived on Kildare to bolster the security presence. The gardai are trying to move the line of rioters back but many are piling down back streets in an attempt to get to the Dáil.

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:26 PM
  13. Agreed Comrade.  Sinn Fein will agree with Mary Harney very quickly over this.

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:27 PM
  14. This post was by me (Brian Boru), but ended up as “Yokel0”:

“This is only a tiny minority of Southerners. Indeed I question where these protesters actually come from. However, ‘Love Ulster’ could have been more sensitive in their choice of route. The route I understand was to start at the Garden of Remembrance (monument to war of independence), and continues past the GPO (HQ of 1916 rebels). There is reason to believe provocation may have been intentional.

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:29 PM
  15. You “BELIEVE” the route was provocative Yokel. Of ocurse it was. Paiseyites were pullin’ the strings behind the scenes trying their damnedest to provoke a violent response from the mainstream Sinn Fein. Pure political motivation, any idiot can see that. (im not callin’ you an idiot Yokel, I respect all opinions).

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:31 PM
  16. Sean....I’ve seen Sinn Fein organised marches in Belfast congregate outside city hall...they’ve happened...i remember attending one in 1996 an anti-interment rememberance protest....I take it you are telling me i wasn’t there now?

You must still wear flares....cos you are still living in the seventies, times have changed

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:33 PM
  17. Why are my posts appearing as “Yokel0”? Other people are Yokel1 and Yokel 2. :(

I am Brian Boru. Can slugger sort this out.

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:36 PM
  18. Stop nicking me name!  Other yokel’s please i’d yerselves by addition of some other info (with due deference to Mr Boru). I’m happy to take fair abuse for my comments but not for those possibly attributed to me but not by me...or I’ll get bob mccartney to sue....he needs the work

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:37 PM
  19. Oh look. PSF are condemning this. Good.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0225/loyalist.html
    “Sinn Féin TD Seán Crowe said there was absolutely no justification for the scenes and called on those involved to end their confrontation with gardaí immediately”

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:38 PM
  20. See commenting policy - moderator

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:38 PM
  21. ..or my plan to create a blogsophere of Yokels is working well...hahahahahahaha!

Before anyone minus a sense of humour, who takes things literally or just makes up things in their head to suit them..there is no such plan.

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:40 PM
  22. Sean McL’s comments are disgraceful ... but nothing you wouldn’t expect from Republicans: “Shouldn’t have turned on the Gardai though, should have waited on the b*****ds marchin and got into them!”

One minute Republicans are saying they want to create an Ireland for everyone. They next minute they are trying to wipe out Unionist and Loyalist culture. He also claims SF-IRA couldn’t march in London - senior SF-IRA terrorists have attended parades in London as official guests. And nobody said anything.

I’m sorry that members of the Irish police were hurt but the one good thing to come out of this is that it puts back the notion of one Government for the whole island for a very long time.

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:41 PM
  23. Of couse times have changed Yokel, and btw im 21 so I wasn’t around in the 70’s. You may say im a young naieve man and dont know what im talkin about.
    Fair enough… you have my lack of knowledge of Republican marches in BFS to back that up.
    But times have changed since the 70’s and rightly so, through a lot more violent actions like those seen today.

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:42 PM
  24. Posting as Comrade Stalin. Slugger’s commenting system seems to be badly up the left.

Get your facts rights Yokel, Republicans cannot march into Belfast city centre at all, sure the RUC for years tried to stop Republican marches around Reublican areas!!!!!

Sean McL, I suggest that you are the one who needs to get the facts sorted out. Republican demonstrations at City Hall have happened on several occasions that I can think of, the most famous one being when Gerry Adams made his “they haven’t gone away you know” quip.

Pat McL:

The rush to get SF onto the thread didn’t take long. What happened today is the sole responsibility of those who organised a coat trailing, provocative march and those who carried out the violence.
    So step forward Frazier, Donaldson et al and those connected to RSF.

SF will find themselves badly damaged if they sit on the fence while property and businesses are smashed up in Dublin by people waving tricolours and wearing Celtic tops. The reality is that they are associated with this kind of riotous action in the minds of most people in Ireland.

The rest of your contribution appears to be an assault on free speech. Love Ulster are clearly nut jobs, but they have a right to express themselves and march just like anyone else.

Posted by  on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:44 PM
  25. They left their barstools to Free Ireland by gifting Frazer with a propaganda victory.

What a bunch of reprobates!!

Posted by Chris Gaskin on Feb 25, 2006 @ 04:47 PM
  26. Page 1 of 6 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy