Tuesday, April 04, 2006
Donaldson reportedly “shot dead” in Donegal
Ireland Online are reporting that the former Sinn Féin staff member, and long-term informant, Denis Donaldson “has been shot dead”, but have very few details other than that. But given his most recent, dishevelled, appearance in the media it would be impossible, at this point, to rule out the possibility that he took his own life. And where does this leave the assessment of the public interest in the Stormont spy-ring case? Update BBC are reporting that Taoiseach Bertie Ahern has described it as a brutal murder - RTÉ report here. While Secretary of State Peter Hain is quoted as “completely appalled by this barbaric act.”
Pete Baker @ 06:27 PM
Since even the Brits have now called it murder and a barbaric act, perhaps they will now start coming clean about how they colluded in all kinds of ways to kill all kinds of people, starting with Denis Donaldson, Gerard Devlin, Robert McCartney,Rosemary Nelson, Billy ‘King Rat’ Wright, etc., ad nauseam. They are simply barbaric.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:11 PMTrowbridge. Indeed. Much like all the others.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:13 PMWill we ever learn who did this .. I’m at odd to pick which agency would do this..Special Branch or M15?
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:17 PMThat’s the thing about this, Jim… there is too little benefit and too much downside for this to be any of the presumptive suspects.
Qui bono? Not PIRA… prolly not MI5/SB…
In fact, the only one’s to benefit, per se, are those opposing devolvement… tar PIRA and throw devolvement and / or the shadow assembly back into the bit-bucket.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:21 PMMcDowell has conmfirmed the murder and the Garda Commissioner has said he was seen alive yesterday.
There are unconfirmed reports that he was tortured before being killed.
Donaldson gave an interview to camera recently and his whereabouts would have been known.
The IRA has denied responsibility; Paisley Snr has pointed the finger at Republicans; etc.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:27 PMDespite all attempts by the Shinners on this site and others to throw blame in the direction of the Brits I think it is pretty obvious who, with the capacity to do this, would stand to benefit most: dissident republicans.
After the Sunday World helpfully told the country where the man was, it hardly took a genius amongst diss. rep. ranks to surmise how much damage they could do.
Wipe out a tout, upset the political applecart and have republicans and Brits so anxious to avoid blame they point the finger at each other.
As well as giving the DUP even more excuse not to enter an executive.Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:30 PMHeard his hand was cut off?
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:30 PMjoinedupthinking: “Despite all attempts by the Shinners on this site and others to throw blame in the direction of the Brits I think it is pretty obvious who, with the capacity to do this, would stand to benefit most: dissident republicans.
After the Sunday World helpfully told the country where the man was, it hardly took a genius amongst diss. rep. ranks to surmise how much damage they could do.
Wipe out a tout, upset the political applecart and have republicans and Brits so anxious to avoid blame they point the finger at each other.
As well as giving the DUP even more excuse not to enter an executive. “Actually, JUT, I was quite careful in my wording… not sure how you get “the Brits” out of “those opposed devolvement.” In fact, of the all of five posts prior to yours, not much was dome other than a little speculating… the shite storm hasn’t hit yet.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:37 PMjoined up you have a point, but it could easily be Provisionals who have the capacity and most to gain from his demise. They let scap get away, couldn’t let another, and if we do not find Political Progress look what we will all come back to.
Lets face it even loyalists could have a motive in his demise, but he was tortured? If so, who’s trade mark is that? Someone wanted to know something.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:38 PMOf course it was PIRA!
Republican attempts to blame “the securocrats” are so pathetic they are laughable.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:40 PMJoinedup
That would tally with a birdy that told me that British officials klnew of the PRA denial statement before it came out and their pushing of an ‘unsanctioned’ killing line.
The idea, posted elsewhere, that he was hiding in a republican area top hide from the Brits is a load of bollocks, they Brits have a capacity to strike anywhere in heavily militarized popposition. Finding and getting Denis wouldnt have been hard. Christ I bet you I could have got near the place if I’d tried.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:41 PMNo , the people who stand most to benefit are those that have actually sold out the Republican cause, but did not and do not have the balls to admit it.
Donaldson was but yet another pawn, a vulnerable individual exploited by the Brits to further
their own selfish ends. In the circumstances his admission that he was a spy was a brave and laudable act.His handlers and his murderers all have his blood on their hands, but, rather sadly, they already have so much blood on their hands that it will not make one jot of difference.
Another sad day for this country of ours another media opportunity for our so called politicians!
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:43 PMCan I ask those Unionists and others on this site who claim that the IRA killed Donaldson why would it do so?
What would the IRA have to gain by killing Donaldson?
It is about time that people looked at who this mans killing would benefit, it is certainly not Republicans.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:47 PMBB: “but it could easily be Provisionals who have the capacity and most to gain from his demise. They let scap get away, couldn’t let another, and if we do not find Political Progress look what we will all come back to.”
Capacity is a straw man—everyone more militant than the Salvation Army and the Explorer Scouts has the capacity. As for gain—the just got off the review board’s shite list re: killing and punishment violence. There is no percentage in this, not for PIRA and not for the Securocrats, who are the second most obvious (as opposed to likely) killers.
BB: “Lets face it even loyalists could have a motive in his demise, but he was tortured? If so, who’s trade mark is that? Someone wanted to know something. “
Some folks, on both sides of the divide, wouldn’t need a motive to torture, just an excuse. Maybe some dolt thought the spy business paid well and tortured him for where his “wealth” was stashed.
Of course, I’m applying rational analysis.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:49 PMMcDowell says there was an apparent break-in. His right hand was almost severed.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:50 PMGunshot to the head. Paisely was just on the TV and said he believed his hand was chopped off but now they’re saying almost severed off.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:50 PMSinn Fein are not blaming securocrats. Adams’s statement disassociating “all republicans who support the peace process” implicates either dissidents or rogue provos.
There are, of course, as usual, a few head-the-balls on Slugger who would blame “securocrats” if a bird shat on them.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:52 PMMcDowell has confirmed on Sky that the victim’s right hand had been ‘badly damaged’ and ‘almost severed’.
He is also resisted the suggestion that the IRA were responsible, giving the ‘it is too early’ line.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:52 PM<em>[A general reminder for all.. See commenting policy - edited moderator]<em>
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:52 PMJim
That is in bad taste and out of order. You should be barred from the site for that comment.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:54 PMYokel:
“he idea, posted elsewhere, that he was hiding in a republican area top hide from the Brits is a load of bollocks, they Brits have a capacity to strike anywhere in heavily militarized popposition.”Do you really think the Brits would launch some sort of major tank/helicopter/armoured carrier led invasion to Donegal to get Donaldson??? That’s laughable.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:55 PMDr Snuggles: So you can say that the IRA Stormgate.. Lets be real with this one. If it can happen then it most liklelt did happen.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:55 PMNobody deserves to die like that, after all we have been through we can not go back to this. I do not feel this is a joking matter jim.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 07:56 PMDread C. he was killed for his money? LOL very rational.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 08:00 PMDread Cthulhu
Actually it wasn’t you I was thinking of. But look again at postings 1 and 3 and the plethora of similar postings on the other thread on this site.Then again, south Armagh might have been let temporarily off the leash to appease them over Slab. Or maybe just broke the leash themselves - but if I had to bet, I would say dissidents.
Posted by on Apr 04, 2006 @ 08:01 PM