Slugger O'Toole Notes on Northern Ireland politics and culture Slugger O'Toole Notes on Northern Ireland politics and culture

You are here
Home | Culture | Be safe - be proud

Next or Previous
« No room for two Unionist parties? | Main | Irish Corruption blog... »

SOS - Save Our Slugger!

Help fund Slugger's new software:

Or mail it direct to Slugger!

Be safe - be proud
An Garda Siochána have launched a crime prevention campaign aimed at encouraging members of the gay community to report any homophobic incidents, including blackmail. The campaign was launched to coincide with the Gay Pride celebrations to give personal safety advice to members of the gay community.

Is this a lead the PSNI could follow, especially as in April the House of Commons Committee criticised them for having a "sluggish and disjointed" approach to the protection of the Gay and ethnic communities in Northern Ireland, where in Derry, for example, homophobic attacks have trebled in the last year.

Comments (12)

Good for them, taking the lead in combating homophobia in the island of Ireland.
While I do not agree with homosexuality as I am Christian, I also believe that you comdemn the sin, not the sinner.

Posted by: Liam at June 21, 2005 05:48 PM

good idea,

But I still think they are using this as a smoke screen to distract attention from Mc Breartys.

P.s most of my gay friends are disgusted by garda's behaviour regarding Mc Brearty stitch up,the 14 year old who died in suspicious circumstances in Clonmel Garda station,and the 20 year old Dub who went into Garda station in perfect health and has been in a coma ever since,
not to mention the antics of robo cop on the reclaim the streets crowd.

The cops are onto a looser if they intend to win over the support of the gay community at the present moment---I work part time in a pub which has about a 50/50 % gay/hetro attendance--and Ive found that the homosexual community in general has a higher standard of fair play and contempt for bullies than us hetros--the garda are seen as being bullies by almost everyone in south at the moment---And please dont someone give me the politcally correct spin--"most garda are honest, hardworking individuals"

Posted by: martin at June 21, 2005 06:33 PM

" in Derry, for example, homophobic attacks have trebled in the last year."

Have we not covered this already? A trembling of reports of attacks does not equal a trebling of attacks. In fact in a rather round-about way an increase in reports can be good in that it shows a community with trust in the police to do something about it, rather than people suffering in isolation.

To the point at hand, well done to the Gardai and I hope this campaign works as well as a similar one in London.

Posted by: Keith M at June 21, 2005 06:35 PM

Does this mean that the Garda will actually respond to complaints made by the Gay community---well responding to aprox 10% of a community I suppose is a start---It seems it is a long time away till garda will respond(in less than 4 hours) to calls from old folks who are being terrorised in their homes by teenage thugs.

About 3 weeks ago I happened to be in Miltown Malbay in county Clare--a woman working behind a bar was head-butted by a member of the travelling community--she reported it to the gARDA Station aprox 300 yards away--they took 2 days to get there!!!

Posted by: martin at June 21, 2005 07:16 PM

I can think of one supposedly socialist organization that should be addressing the homophobic attacks in Derry.

Posted by: toronto at June 21, 2005 11:22 PM

Toronto,

If we are thinking of the same organisation-one of its leaders is a homosexual himself-no not the top 2 but someone very close--you'd never guess either

Posted by: martin at June 21, 2005 11:31 PM

"While I do not agree with homosexuality as I am Christian"

A very Christian attitude! No one's asking you to agree with anything. Just accept it.

Posted by: Daisy at June 22, 2005 09:19 AM

Daisy if you read the rest of his statement instead of doing a very selective quote I think his "comdemn the sin, not the sinner." adequately covered this base.

Posted by: beano; EverythingUlster.com at June 22, 2005 09:38 AM

IMO classifying homosexuality as a sin calls into question the whole concept of sinning. When you call something that is the natural state for many otherwise good people, something that, in itself, causes no-one any harm or hurt, a sin, sinning loses meaning.

Liam, you say that you condemn homosexuality because you are a Christian. Could you point me to the bit of the bible where Jesus condemns homosexuals. I must have missed it in RE class back in school. I only got bits like 'let he who is without sin cast the first stone'.

I'm sorry to have a go like this as you do have a tolerant attitude compared to a lot of other so-called christians.

Posted by: Fraggle at June 22, 2005 10:33 AM

"Daisy if you read the rest of his statement instead of doing a very selective quote I think his "comdemn the sin, not the sinner." adequately covered this base."

Yes, that makes it much better. Not in the least bit judgemental, intolerant or patronising. Such attitudes often give credence to more extremist views and they should be challenged.

Posted by: Daisy at June 22, 2005 12:51 PM

Action adventure about Islamic fundamentalist terrorism, encrypted messages from the Old Testament, a doomsday nuclear bomb and a gay hero.

Posted by: Jay Curtis at July 15, 2005 06:17 AM

Here's one for the Christian homophobes. If God created man and did so in his image does that mean there's a percentage chance he was/is gay too ? After all, 'He' didn't actually write the bible, it's just kinds about him ? Or, was his creation of people born gay, if you will, a 'design fault' ? If so, maybe he's not as omnipotent as you think ?

Posted by: Wichser at July 15, 2005 10:37 AM

NOTE: When adding hyperlinks, please follow this format:
<a href="(URL)">hyperlink</a>
It is important that you include http:// when adding the URL.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path

News, tips or crits here: mick.fealty -at- gmail.com
(change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy

Topics
a long peace?
books
Britain
Conflict
Culture
Economy
Education
election 2003
Election 2005
Enviroment
environment
Europe
Gaeilge
Glossary
Government
Highlights
Human Rights
Humour
International
Manifesto
Media
Nationalism
Negotiations
Parties
Policing
Soapbox
Society
Sport
the south
unionism

Highlights
Out with the crystal ball...
Just a Mo...
Commenting Policy
A backgrounder on the McCartney affair
Northern Bank raid and political fallout, so far

Readers comments
More corrupt than last year? - (4)
Living on an island or in a state? - (31)
a combination of historical ignorance and monumental self-pity - (42)
Payout time... - (4)
New Lansdowne revealed - (24)
Far right 'imagination'... - (13)
Nazi comments were a sectarian slur - (3)
The price of peacemaking... - (17)
belfast metropolitan area plan unveiled - (23)
Why (or rather how) Alec Reid was right... - (37)

Archives
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005
June 2005
May 2005
April 2005
March 2005
February 2005
January 2005
December 2004
November 2004
October 2004
September 2004
July 2004
March 2004
October 2003
September 2003
May 2003

Design: River Path Associates Comments: Big Blog Co Powered: Movable Type 3.15 Copyright © 2003 Sluggerotoole.com All rights reserved.