![]() |
|
You are here Home | the south | Sinn Féin TD suspended from Dáil Next or Previous « Is the secret ballot really secret? | Main | UUP insiders planning a corporate leadership? »
SOS - Save Our Slugger!
Help fund Slugger's new software: Or mail it direct to Slugger! |
May 11, 2005 Sinn Féin TD suspended from Dáil UTV reports that Caoimhín O Caoláin has been suspended from the Dáil "after refusing to give Bertie Ahern proper speaking time." The Cavan-Monaghan TD accused the Taoiseach of giving more priority to the concerns of those in the horse-racing and greyhound industry, than to those in the disability sector. He was ordered out of the chamber after refusing to give Bertie Ahern proper speaking time. More detail in report from Breaking News: Mr Ahern countered that the TD was trying to make political gain by deliberately confusing the issues. “It’s just as important that we look after the needs of people with disabilities as we look after the betting industry in this State. Shame is all I can say,” said Mr O Caolain. Mr Ahern accused Mr O Caolain of “clinging on to some hope that he can get political gain by ranting on“. “You’re entirely dishonest in this debate,” he added. After loud exchanges between Mr O Caolain and the Government benches, the Ceann Comhairle warned the Sinn Féin TD. He said: “You cannot come into this House, ask a question and then frustrate any member of the Government who wishes to answer the question. “I’ll ask you to behave yourself. Sorry Deputy, if you open your mouth once more you’ll leave the House.” Is there photographic evidence??? Posted by: La Dolorosa at May 11, 2005 04:08 PM O Caoláin hasn't been too forceful in condemnation of IRA attacks that have resulted in hundreds of people being left disabled. At least he'll have time to polish his neck while he's suspended. Posted by: Linton at May 11, 2005 04:22 PM O Caoláin doesn't claim or need to be an apologist for anyone. Fair play to him for highlighting the warped priorities of the brown envelopers ! Posted by: DaithiO at May 11, 2005 04:47 PM Here's an example of "warped priorities": 20,000 people are estimated to have lost limbs during the Troubles (for info see Northern Ireland Amputee Assessment Scheme) - more than half attributed to IRA attacks. O Caoláin has a long track record of justifying the armed struggle. Do the math. Better a "brown enveloper" than a brownshirt. Posted by: Linton at May 11, 2005 04:54 PM Having watched him many times on the televised Dail proceedings he's just not a very impressive speaker. He usually appears to just bluster, shout and interject with varying degrees of stupidity and ineffectiveness. Posted by: lamh_dearg at May 11, 2005 06:36 PM Well done Caoimhín - only he comes out of the exchange with any honour. Pretty typical of the Ceann Comhairle IMO. Shame on the greasers in FF. Posted by: middle-class taig at May 11, 2005 07:03 PM Was he driven away in the back of a white van by some hoods with CS spray wearing fake Garda uniforms? If so don't worry its just Snoddy's election team. Posted by: aquifer at May 11, 2005 09:27 PM I welcome Sinn Fein's stand on the disability bill but I feel that there are more appropriate ways of handling business than Mr Ó Caoláin showed today, which in my opinion made him look like somewhat of a boy in a room full of adults. On the plus side he at least has given some much needed press coverage to the fact the bill exists Posted by: David at May 11, 2005 10:21 PM How dare Bertie interrupt? For goodness sake does he not realise that the shinners are the rightful government of Ireland? Posted by: Gerry Lvs Castro at May 11, 2005 11:39 PM glc yawn yawn Posted by: donald at May 11, 2005 11:49 PM Aquifer, don't forget the stun gun, two pickaxe handles and the lump hammer that they also found in the Sinn Féin election van - perfect for a spot of disabling. O Caoláin's tedious indignance seemed to desert him on that occasion. Aengus Ó Snodaigh's denial of any knowledge of the little fancy dress party in his election van seemed good enough for the Sinn Féin leader in the Dáil. O Caoláin would much rather speak at unspeakably depressing rallies extolling the virtues of republican volunteers, who are incidentally responsible for thousands of permanent disablings. The Best Hypocrisy Album in the World... Ever Posted by: Stet at May 12, 2005 12:06 AM The Best Hypocrisy Album in the World... Ever 2 Willie McCrea and mass murderer Billy Wright dueting on a stage in portadown Posted by: flush at May 12, 2005 12:12 AM You are absolutely right, Flush. Don't make the mistake of thinking that just because I am critical of one hypocrite, that I support another. A plague on both their houses, as far as I'm concerned. However, this thread is based on the news story above, and try as I might, I can't find Willie McCrea's name in it. What about your whataboutery? Posted by: Stet at May 12, 2005 12:21 AM Quite right Stet. p.s. ever notice how many of these new posters are on AOL and how similar their posts are ? Posted by: Davros at May 12, 2005 12:26 AM Ever notice how paranoid Davros is? Posted by: Gerry Lvs Castro at May 12, 2005 08:16 AM Don't confuse my dislike of plastic paddies with paranoia GLC! Posted by: Davros at May 12, 2005 08:37 AM Davros..... a sad, a very very sad guy. Posted by: Levitas at May 12, 2005 01:21 PM Levitas - I have never dropped money in a hat or a bucket to fund murder. Funding and supporting terrorism is what should be considered sad. Posted by: Davros at May 12, 2005 02:40 PM |
Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland. Produced by Mick Fealty News, tips or crits here: mick.fealty -at- gmail.com Topics a long peace?books Britain Conflict Culture Economy Education election 2003 Election 2005 Enviroment environment Europe Gaeilge Glossary Government Highlights Human Rights Humour International Manifesto Media Nationalism Negotiations Parties Policing Soapbox Society Sport the south unionism
Highlights
Out with the crystal ball...Just a Mo... Commenting Policy A backgrounder on the McCartney affair Northern Bank raid and political fallout, so far
Readers comments
More corrupt than last year? - (4)Living on an island or in a state? - (31) a combination of historical ignorance and monumental self-pity - (42) Payout time... - (4) New Lansdowne revealed - (24) Far right 'imagination'... - (13) Nazi comments were a sectarian slur - (3) The price of peacemaking... - (17) belfast metropolitan area plan unveiled - (23) Why (or rather how) Alec Reid was right... - (37)
Archives
October 2005September 2005 August 2005 July 2005 June 2005 May 2005 April 2005 March 2005 February 2005 January 2005 December 2004 November 2004 October 2004 September 2004 July 2004 March 2004 October 2003 September 2003 May 2003 |
|
Design: River Path Associates Comments: Big Blog Co Powered:
Movable Type 3.15 Copyright © 2003 Sluggerotoole.com
All rights reserved.
|
<a href="(URL)">hyperlink</a>
It is important that you include http:// when adding the URL.