![]() |
|
You are here Home | Soapbox | First Cuckoo of Spring Next or Previous « Pressure brings (some) results | Main | Where Sinn Fein's money comes from... »
SOS - Save Our Slugger!
Help fund Slugger's new software: Or mail it direct to Slugger! |
February 26, 2005 First Cuckoo of Spring How's this for "paddywhackery" in the Belfast Telegraph ? Plea for Paddy's Day holiday. Ghastly - forced "craic" and a girl in a shamrock bikini. Those interested in voting ? One small point. Follow the link to vote yes or no www.irwinsbakery.com/stpatricksdayoff This is classified as "News". I call it sexist exploitative advertising. And although I'm not terribly religious I think our national Saint deserves better treatment than a naff article featuring a scantily clad woman in a paper providing back-door advertising for a 'celebrity chef' and a bakery . Off Soapbox. I'd love to wake up beside her tho eh'
Posted by: spirit-level Will this blog re-open the shamrock colour debate ?
Posted by: Davros I am religious, but lighten up son! On the actual issue, I didn't realize St Pat's wasn't a holiday - I've always taken it!
Posted by: IJP Let's be honest
Posted by: spirit-level There are several issues raised Ian - Is that sort of sexism acceptable ?
Posted by: Davros St.Paddy's Day is an excuse to get pissed! In the past, possibly. But these days people have the money to get drunk regularly.
Posted by: Davros ok how bout "more pissed" ;)
Posted by: spirit-level "Gloria H. has the same effect on me - I automatically hit 'off'!" So here we have the basis of nationalists I wonder just how much more we actually agree upon.
Posted by: spirit-level S-L : her daughter is dead. Comment in poor taste.
Posted by: Davros I didn't know that's terrible
Posted by: spirit-level The 2nd link is broken Ambrose. FYI. Go for it I reckon, a holiday for all. Make it a festival like Dublin, have a bit of crack/craic or even crack if you're hardcore. Fixed now, thanks maca A.U.
Posted by: maca How's about a yellow card for the sexism of SL's initial post - it brings the site into disrepute - sorry - more disrepute?
Posted by: Alan Alan - I think S-L's first post proves the point about the Belfast Tele's grubby little article.
Posted by: Davros I'd echo the call for Ambrose to lighten up.. and Davros too by the looks of things - "grubby little article"?.. time for your nap I think.. it is an advertising campaign first and foremost - BTW where's the exploitation?
Posted by: peteb I was going to add - not a very good advertising campaign.. but it did catch Ambrose's eye... hmm.. ;)
Posted by: peteb Pete - you should know by now that I hate all this undignified "cutesy Oirishness" with a passion ;)
Posted by: Davros Alan
Posted by: spirit-level Spirit-level Dead right my son, so would I.
Posted by: Jacko The Belfast Telegraph has been liberally dotted with pictures of scantily clad ladies with no apparent motive for years now. IIRC the Portadown News has made reference to this at least once. The Telegraph isn't much more than a tabloid dressed up as a broadsheet. [oops. The Telegraph apparently now *is* a tabloid..]
Posted by: Roger W. Christ XVII Look let's just agree that: (i) a public holiday's an inherently good thing; (ii) nekkid gerls are inherently a good thing (well, the ones who look like thon are); and (iii) the price of the drink's fierce but we'll fill our boots anyhow. Lighten the feck up lads.
Posted by: Hardy Handshake HH, wholheartedly agree, I'll grin and bear all the fake oirishness for the day (heck I might even admit to some oirishness) in return for a day off, and hope that come the 12th of July that is reciprocated.
Posted by: mnob Post a comment
|
Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland. Produced by Mick Fealty News, tips or crits here: mick.fealty -at- gmail.com Topics a long peace?books Britain Conflict Culture Economy Education election 2003 Election 2005 Enviroment environment Europe Gaeilge Glossary Government Highlights Human Rights Humour International Manifesto Media Nationalism Negotiations Parties Policing Soapbox Society Sport the south unionism
Highlights
Out with the crystal ball...Just a Mo... Commenting Policy A backgrounder on the McCartney affair Northern Bank raid and political fallout, so far
Readers comments
More corrupt than last year? - (4)Living on an island or in a state? - (31) a combination of historical ignorance and monumental self-pity - (42) Payout time... - (4) New Lansdowne revealed - (24) Far right 'imagination'... - (13) Nazi comments were a sectarian slur - (3) The price of peacemaking... - (17) belfast metropolitan area plan unveiled - (23) Why (or rather how) Alec Reid was right... - (37)
Archives
October 2005September 2005 August 2005 July 2005 June 2005 May 2005 April 2005 March 2005 February 2005 January 2005 December 2004 November 2004 October 2004 September 2004 July 2004 March 2004 October 2003 September 2003 May 2003 |
|
Design: River Path Associates Comments: Big Blog Co Powered:
Movable Type 3.15 Copyright © 2003 Sluggerotoole.com
All rights reserved.
|
<a href="(URL)">hyperlink</a>
It is important that you include http:// when adding the URL.