![]() |
|
You are here Home | Policing | Arrests in money-laundering raids Next or Previous « Sinn Fein's cynical crisis management | Main | Tough call for Kelly... »
SOS - Save Our Slugger!
Help fund Slugger's new software: Or mail it direct to Slugger! |
February 17, 2005 Arrests in money-laundering raids RTE is reporting that in a series of raids by Garda officers, in an "investigation focused on money-laundering" 7 people have been arrested, 4 in Cork and 3 in Dublin.. According to the RTE report "the gardaí seized more than £2m sterling in the Cork operations, which targetted funding to the Provisional IRA" and "they seized £60,000 which they believe to have come from the raid on the Northern Bank." - The BBC is also reporting the RTE story but isn't confirming the link to the Northern Bank. Update The RTE report now states that an unnamed Sinn Féin politician was among those arrested in Cork. While the BBC report notes - Sinn Fein's Martin McGuiness has told RTE that he was unaware of the arrests and said he would make no comment on the matter until he had more information. Update to the Update The RTE report now states "It is understood that a former Sinn Féin elected representative is among those arrested" Sky News reports that a member of Sinn Fein was arrested: ARRESTS OVER BANK RAID The heist at the bank in Belfast has had a devastating effect on the peace process as militant group the IRA has been blamed for being behind the crime. Police raided a property near the southwest city of Cork in the Irish Republic and found at least £60,000 including notes in the Northern Bank's own brand. They could not immediately confirm whether the money matched records of the notes stolen. The crime represented an apparent breakthrough in months of police work to identify the gang responsible for the crime - the biggest raid in history. Police initially said they arrested three men and a woman. One was a member of Sinn Fein but was not identified by name. Sinn Fein declined to comment but had previously has stressed it believes IRA denials of involvement in the robbery. Those arrested are being interviewed at police stations in the Cork area. http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-1171411,00.html
Posted by: Belfast Gonzo these reports can't be true and quite clearly are the work of securocrat agents working inside rte, the irish times and the bbc who are intent on helping fianna fail stave off sinn fein's electoral challenge and wish to undermine the peace process...anyone who repeats this story or gives it any credence is also an ally of enemies of the peace process...on another note why does adams always manage to be out of the country when the shit hits the fan??
Posted by: tom luby Some competitive posting going on here. You guys had it up on Slugger within 5 minutes of one another. They have them for 48 hours for interrogation. The physical evidence reported includes both sterling and dollars (?!!) so the cover story about the money laundering operation is probably true. The Irish Times reported that 60,000 pounds was in Northern bank notes. Anyway 48 hours is enough to establish whether the money is from the northern job and then following the trail back to Belfast. Good for the Garda. Someone is working this case.
Posted by: James Let's make sure that the hysteria surrounding this case doesn't interfere with anyone's right to a fair trial.
Posted by: Henry94 Gerry Adams really has his finger on the pulse, he even knows when to retract his certainty, he must have spies in the Garda. All I can say is watch this space, if a SF/IRA member is charged with anything in connection with this.
Posted by: vespasian Adams' statement from yesterday could perhaps be seen in a new light now...? Prophetic or coincidental?
Posted by: Belfast Gonzo "Gerry Adams really has his finger on the pulse, he even knows when to retract his certainty, he must have spies in the Garda." I was thinking the same thing. Must have gotten a tip off.
Posted by: maca Can I ask anyone who knows, NOT to publish names of arrestees on Slugger for legal reasons. Email them to me instead... ;o)
Posted by: Belfast Gonzo Does it matter if a member of the IRA or Sinn Fein is charged with all this? What I mean by this is what happens if the IRA refuse to recognise said person/s and they aren't whisked off to Castlerea open prison like the McCabe killers and are instead sent to Portlaoise as common or garden bank robbers. Then we are in common criminal, nothing to do with us guv, territory. This would also be very convenient for Gerry and Martin as they have plausible deniability as it will be argued that it wasn't a sanctioned raid. What happens if all these guys are from the south?
Posted by: George George
Posted by: maca "It may just leave SF in the clear. " In the clear--With whom?? SF member arrested--- its not us Guv he did it on his own ??? Straws and clutching spring to mind
Posted by: barnshee If you had £2.5 million on the island of Ireland would you not expect to find more than 60k in Northern notes.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon Barnshee
Posted by: maca SF includes a broad spectrum of Republicanism. The robbery will make some members very uncomfortable, and it will please others. I'd imagine there's more sweat being expended over the McCartney murder.
Posted by: JD ITV and UTV are now reporting that £10 million has been siezed.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon Breaking News are now saying two members of SF arrested...
Posted by: maca The PSNI, Governments & other parties have been blaming the IRA and saying SF had full knowledge of it. Not quite true Maca... it was claimed that SOME senior members of SF had foreknowledge. Remember how the Irish Volunteers had a cabal within who were IRB ?
Posted by: Davros Go for a nap and the excitement happens LOL
Posted by: Davros 'southwest city of Cork'? Hello? Surely the biggest news here is that Skynews think Cork is in the southwest of Ireland?!? ;-) Now, what was this about a greenpaper? It'll take more smoke and mirrors than that to claim the front page. NewIreland Pension Fund Managers may have less money to invest than they had thought!
Posted by: smcgiff Fair enough Dav, but in Aherns words "the political leadership of the IRA" knew of the robbery, which means more than "some senior members" in my opinion. ;)
Posted by: maca Isn't Cork in the south west?
Posted by: slug9987 "Go for a nap and the excitement happens LOL" maca doing a nice defence:
Posted by: spirit-level You'll have to take a look at a map slug ;)
Posted by: maca Newstalk 106 is reporting that one of those arrested in Cork was a former SF Councillor. Anybody have a list handy of former Cork SF councillors?
Posted by: Richard Delevan Maca - seems strange to be arguing this point, but I don't believe all the senior members of SF are associated with the IRA. Think Pearse and co' within MacNeill's Volunteers. Let's not throw the bath out as well as the baby and the bathwater ;)
Posted by: Davros 'Isn't Cork in the south west?' Nope. I would consider Tralee to be Southwest. Cork is definetly South in my book. Google "mapofireland" in Images to get a map of Ireland.
Posted by: smcgiff "maca doing a nice defence"
Posted by: maca only 60k of this money is from the NB. they don't tell us how much was from the ulster bank, bank of england, bank of ireland or first trust. could this not just be money from another of the RA's illegal enterprises?
Posted by: Fraggle 'could this not just be money from another of the RA's illegal enterprises? £GBP10M Cash? Highly unlikely, IMO, but theoretically possible.
Posted by: smcgiff maca
Posted by: spirit-level Sinn Fein releases :
Commenting on reports in the media this evening surrounding arrests in Cork and Dublin a Sinn Féin spokesperson said: "I am aware of reports in the media this evening regarding arrests in Cork and Dublin and speculation that it is linked to the Northern Bank Robbery. Sinn Féin‚s position on this robbery is clear. "Over the last four weeks we have seen people rush to judgement time and time again. We would urge people to exercise caution on this occasion and allow the truth to come out. "Sinn Féin has no further information about these arrests and we will wait to see how events unfold before we comment further." ENDS
Posted by: Richard Delevan S-L - The Irish Republican Brotherhood - the cabal led by (or most associated with) Pearse who set up Easter 1916 from within Eoin Mac Neill's Irish Volunteers.
Posted by: Davros Cork is probably South West of wherever Sky News is based ;)
Posted by: Davros spirit-level Play the ball.. and leave the personal stuff out.
Posted by: peteb Spirit-level George questioned if they could all be from the South, I don't think it's possible (considering how the operation was carried out). I think it's probably freelance but it's based on what I know now. My mind isn't made up, unlike others i'll wait for all the facts.
Posted by: maca Yep, looks like anytime soon we're going to hear to be presented with the evidence Orde, Blair, Ahern et. all, didn't have.
Posted by: Jacko Pete, no harm done. Let him have his fun.
Posted by: maca Question for NI posters. Weekdays 7:30 & 10:00 do ye automatically get Skynews Ireland or regular skynews? Sorry for diverting the thread - Normal coverage to resume shortly.
Posted by: smcgiff £10 million? BBC and RTE are reporting £2-2.3 million.
Posted by: JD Both RTE News and BBC NI are stating that the Gardai haven't even examined the 60k Northern notes yet.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon 'ITV and UTV are now reporting that £10 million has been siezed' - Pat Mc Larnon.
Posted by: smcgiff Sinn Fein in Dublin said "no elected Btw, I think the Gardaí have 72 hours to question them, not 48 as mentioned earlier.
Posted by: maca Breaking news have also said 10 million but a lot of other sites have said 2 million.
Posted by: maca Sinn Fein in Dublin said "no elected Back to the recurrent theme of "election-workers" and/or "agents" upon which I have commented in the past ?
Posted by: Davros Can't see the reference to £10 million on the UTV site now. Perhaps they've backed off that number. RTE are saying "former" elected SF official: that seems to tally with the Sf statement from Dublin.
Posted by: JD ok
Posted by: spirit-level The Guardian seem to have a lot of details.
Posted by: maca [play the ball, john - ed. peteb]
Posted by: john The White House has just released the following short, and rather pithy, statement aimed at ending speculation over whether or not Sinn Fein will get an invite to this year's St. Patrick's Day celebrations: "You must be joking. Only respectable people are being invited this year, like Tony Soprano and his "family". Ah well, the shinners probably wouldn't have got a visa this time anyway.
Posted by: Jacko I lifted the £10 million from teletext on ITV and UTV. Also a rather breathless and adamant Jim Cusack, Independent Newspapers, (I know I should have known better) told Mike Nesbitt on UTV it was £10million. He also went into a lot of detail about twhat happened, so i guess that can be dismissed as crap as well. spirit-level do you really think the stakes are that big?
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon Richard Delevan "Anybody have a list handy of former Cork SF councillors?". There is only one that I can trace Don O'Leary elected for the North West Ward of Cork City Council in 1999 but who didn't stand in 2004. The one thing I will say is that there were also arrests in Dublin so there's no certainy that if one of those arrested was a councillor, that they have to be from Cork. For what it's worth Cork SF, lives up to the "Rebel County" tag. Several members of the party canvassed against the referendum to amend articles 2+3 in 1998 while I believe SF was officially neutral in the campaign in this country.
Posted by: Keith M It's reported that at one of the addresses a washing machine and a primate were taken away for examination, Garda Supt Sean O Kerry stated, 'this looks like a monkey laundering operation'.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon Pat Groan. I'd leave the damage limitation to Gerry Kelly!
Posted by: Belfast Gonzo Nothing like a bit a graveyard humour Pat! I think tonight we could very well be looking at the demise of SF political aspirations for many years to come.
Posted by: Keith M Gonzo, Gerry will do his thing, i'll do mine. KeithM, I seem to have heard that more than once.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon Joking aside, folks. Pat
Posted by: Jacko I think the game is up. Even if these raids are not connected to the bank robbery, the Irish Government have decided the game is up. The IRA, is an underground organisation which relies on non legal methods to fund itself. They do not report their earnings, and they do not submit tax returns (Pat McL, even you have to admit to this). Wether the Sinn Fein leadership is involved in this is questionable. Obviously the government has decided to dig some dirt, regardless if it can be connected to the robbery or not, some dirt will stick. They are in fact forcing the IRA to come to the inevitable juncture when they decide to disband. They are attempting to force the RM to make a leap which they wanted to make on their own terms. Wether they give into the pressure, or jump into the trenches to wait it out will be very interesting to watch. If this is connected to the robbery, and the IRA as a movment was involved in the Northern, then it was a huge own goal from which they find it hard to recover from, especially in the south. But then again we will have to wait and see how things pan out.
Posted by: PaddyCanuck "Several members of the party canvassed against the referendum to amend articles 2+3 in 1998 while I believe SF was officially neutral in the campaign in this country." From my understanding Keith, the Ard Fheis asked for people to amend the party’s constitution and then members could decide to canvass the referendum themselves, on what ever position they favored.
Posted by: cg Pat McL "I seem to have heard that more than once." Not from me you haven't. I've predicted gains for SF/IRA in both UK and Irish general elections ever since 1992, at times I've underestimated those gains and once or twice I've over-estimated them. I'm still not sure how any potential charges and convictions will play in NI, but in this country they'll go down like a fart in a confessional.
Posted by: Keith M 'The IRA, is an underground organisation which relies on non legal methods to fund itself. They do not report their earnings, and they do not submit tax returns (Pat McL, even you have to admit to this). Wether the Sinn Fein leadership is involved in this is questionable.' PaddyC, I've never said anything to the contrary.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon A primate and a washing machine? Don't be bringing religion into it!
Posted by: Alan McDonald No offence Pat, I just think this is pretty damaging. I think the only way Sinn Fein will be able to get out of this one, is to deliver an end to the IRA. Otherwise their whole political enterprise on the island is jeaprdized, and I for one do not want to see that happen. Do you agree?
Posted by: PaddyCanuck They shouldn't have crossed Bertie. We must, of course, pay tribute to Michael McDowell as well. Excellent Justice Minister. Was very impressed by the holiday pile as well - no such thing as an annual fortnight in a B&B there. But, we can't begrudge the guy, considering how well he has done.
Posted by: Jacko "They shouldn't have crossed Bertie. Jacko Are you suggesting that Bertie had a part to play in these arrests?
Posted by: cg NornIron Pat Yes I do think the stakes are that high. Now a conclusive link between the crime and the IRA would be deeply embarrassing for both the paramilitary group and Sinn Fein. In my view it will finish them off. In its place there will arise, This will be a totally new scenario Unionists will have no ammunition. Paisley will be finished too. That's the optimists view
Posted by: spirit-level Political fiction at its best spirit-level ;)
Posted by: cg Good info here.
Posted by: maca cg As you and I both know (though I accept you might have forgotten), Bertie does not have the power to direct searches, arrests and such things. Sure he told us so himself. I think the Commissioner of the Garda must have heard Gerry bad-mouthing Bertie on the TV and radio and thought to himself: "Who does that big northern git think he is, coming down here and bad-mouthing our democratically elected leader. I'll fix his wagon for him." Hence today's developments. So cg, as I think you will now agree, if Gerry hadn't crossed Bertie, he wouldn't have angered the Commissioner, the Commissoner wouldn't have got mad and told his men to watch Gerry's men, and today's arrests wouldn't have It takes you to follow these things along as they develop, then you can put two and two together and make four.
Posted by: Jacko Thanks spirit-level, excellent news site.
Posted by: Jacko "It takes you to follow these things along as they develop, then you can put two and two together and make four." or 2+2=17, If you go by your logic ;)
Posted by: cg Come on now CG, while it mightn't add up to £26m, it is pretty significant. £2.5m lying around a house in Cork? Found as part of a Garda/CAB operation against the provo's? Even without the whole Northern Bank denials this is savage stuff. Is there anyway it could possibly be anything other than the proceeds of criminal activity?
Posted by: Ringo 2+2 does indeed make 4, unfortunately for Security Correspondent of Independent Newspapers Jim Cusack £2.5 million doesn't make £10 million. So already we have a degree of misinformation that has very publicly turned out to be false. There may be Northern robbery notes involved, just as easily there may not be. People may end up before the courts, just as easily they may not. Already on this thread we have examples of different types of political scenarios that may or may not arise. The arrests were only a few hours ago.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon According to one normally-reliable source, some of the serial numbers match notes stolen from the Northern Bank. I am treating this cautiously right now, so if I get independent confirmation, I'll let you know.
Posted by: Belfast Gonzo Jacko - they also have a site for the ROI
Posted by: Davros Strong stuff from APNI's David Ford : “Perhaps Gerry Adams will now offer a further clarification of his comments in Madrid yesterday if his first apparent clarification is not itself to appear mischievous and misleading.”
Posted by: Davros Davros, strong stuff indeed, 'people need to be careful about their comments, but....'.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon Pat when APNI can savage you, it's time to throw in the hand ;) (Sorry Ian ! No offence )
Posted by: Davros Davros Old Fordy is a laugh isn't he. First he warns against premature speculation then launches into a bit of it himself. I don't agree, as things sit now, that this is the most important development since Collins returning from London. But I definitely think it has shades of de Valera's move against the IRA of that time about it - all of course in the context of modern legal parameters.
Posted by: Jacko Let's make sure that the hysteria surrounding this case doesn't interfere with anyone's right to a fair trial. This quote is from Henry94, someone who was demanding that "evidence" be published about the Northern Bank robbery before it got to trial. Unbelievable.
Posted by: willowfield Jacko, Davros cg
Posted by: spirit-level Davros, 'Pat when APNI can savage you, it's time to throw in the hand ;) (Sorry Ian ! No offence )' Don't, it would be too easy and probaly earn me a red card.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon Pat - I will insist you get a fair hearing and a yellow card first lest anyone judge you without proper evidence. :o)
Posted by: Belfast Gonzo Gonzo, RTE News at 9.00pm stated that the Northern notes recovered were not being examined until tomorrow when PSNI detectives will arrive in Dublin. Apparently the £2.3million was found in the house of a financier who has a business in Cork.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon If the PSNI would now take a leaf out of the Garda's book and move decisively against the loyalist paramilitaries this island might, just might, start to move forward as a collective.
Posted by: Jacko
There is a poster showing the New Yorker's view from the top of the Empire State Building looking west. You see New York taking up most of the foreground, a little bit of Pennsylvania, the Mississippi, a thin, featureless ribbon for the Midwest, the Rockys and then the Golden Gate and China. I think that somewhere, someplace, the English have a similar westward-looking poster for Ireland showing Dublin taking up most of the space, some boglands with the roads filled with sheep and tractors and then West Cork off in the distance. The Crown Bar might be way off to the right. You'd think that you'd find more English in Waterford where they fly the Union Jack, but Noooo, West Cork is thoroughly riddled with them. It must be the attraction of the wild west combined with a short drive from the ferry at Rosslare. I recall one stay in and around Clonakilty when we ran into nothing but English couples in the bars and restaurants. Ironic when you consider that Michael Collins' life started and ended just a short ways away.
Posted by: James Pat I may not agree with what you say, but, by God, I will defend to the last your right to say it. I just made that up, good isn't it.
Posted by: Jacko Who tipped off Gerry Adams that the Gardai were about to swoop on the Northern Bank robbers.
Posted by: JC47 Who tipped off Gerry Adams that the Gardai were about to swoop on the Northern Bank robbers.
Posted by: JC47 There are times when it's WORTH risking a red card pat ;) Posted by: Madradin Ruad | February 16, 2005 02:46 PM ( That'll 'larn' you to snipe at your betters David LOL )
Posted by: Davros James I take it there was some point you were trying to make in your last post.
Posted by: Jacko Jacko, there is no doubt your literary star is on the rise. Davros, how could i risk a red card now when the threads over the next 48 hrs are going to be great craic.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon "Btw, I think the Gardaí have 72 hours to question them, not 48 as mentioned earlier" It was Section 30 that was mentioned. As I read it, it allows 24 hours just on the cop's sayso and another 24 if one of the bigwigs OKs it. Amnesty International has their knickers in a twist over it, possibly since it's like being picked up in the Jim Crow era by some cracker sheriff in Alabama "fer suspicion". Heaven only knows what the Patriot Act lets them do here now.
Posted by: James Pat All joking aside, fair play to you for hanging on in there and fighting your corner like a good'un. Respect.
Posted by: Jacko James
Posted by: maca "English people should be barred from living in the Republic" That is the most twisted, perverted and xeonophobic response to that posting that I could ever imagine. There is no shame in therapy, my boy. Good luck, as we will have nothing further to say to one another. BTW Pat, et. al., A tumble dryer or a washing machine full of slugs or metal washers is used to "weather" new bills in counterfeiting operations over here.
Posted by: James A few doors kicked in by the guard's, republicans arrested and possibly brought before the courts, will not stop the desire by tens of thousands, if not millions of Irishmen and women to see their country reunited. Nor will it right the wrongs of decades in the north. What im saying is there will still be a need for a peace process of some sort or other. SF, come the weekend will still be the largest nationalist party in the north and thus will need to be shown the respect its mandate demands. Somehow nationalists/republicans and Unionist/loyalists have to find away to live together in the manner the rest of the people of Ireland and the UK do. Not easy but far from impossible and to lay all the blame for the last thirty odd years at the feet of the PIRA, is just plain wrong. If anything, this current crisis, if handled properly, may, in the long run strengthen Gerry Adams and his colleagues hand within the PRM. Whether that will be a good thing is another matter and not for me.
Posted by: mickhall The broadcast media are being very cagey on this, but the story I'm hearing is the £2m is part of the Northern Bank hoist. It's not one but at least two members of SF in custody and they are much higher profile than some unknown former councillor. There have also been raids in Meath and Louth and the are more to come. Tomorrow it looks like we'll have the smoking gun.
Posted by: Keith M Sorry but to clarify, when I say "more to come", I mean the raids have happpened just that they haven't been widly covered yet. My source isn't THAT good ;-)
Posted by: Keith M Well James, then pray tell us what all that diatribe was actually in aid of.
Posted by: Jacko "but the story I'm hearing is the £2m is part of the Northern Bank hoist" According to reports Keith, the Gardaí are meeting with PSNI reps tomorrow to establish whether or not the cash is from the Northern heist, and that nothing has been checked so far.
Posted by: maca Jacko, go and stick on the kettle then have a relaxing cup of cha. Maybe watch a bit of tv and give the aul PC a rest. ;)
Posted by: maca Terrific discussion going on on Vincent Browne on RTE, focusing on the probable level of Sinn Fein support in the south after this. Browne making the point that if Jean McConville's saga just before the last general election didn't dent their vote, this won't either. Listen here.
Posted by: Richard Delevan James, I believe that's were the term laundering came from. RTE, Independent Newspapers correspondent Jim Cusack travelled down from UTV to be on Prime Time RTE 9.30pm. He stated that all the money recovered today was from the Northern raid, for definite. He did not mention the £10 million that he had falsely alluded to earlier as that would have been a tad embarrassing to his role as an expert on RTE.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon Mickhall, what a miserable rallying cry when a bit of introspection is required from republicans.
Posted by: Ringo maca Mickhall
Posted by: Jacko Jacko If you think i'm trying for 'damage limitation' or 'shifting of focus' then you clearly need to take a break. The kettle must be boiled by now. ;)
Posted by: maca ShayPaul Weekdays 7:30 & 10:00 do ye automatically get Skynews Ireland or regular skynews? You get 'regular Sky News'. However, you can go to 'add channels' and add Sky News Ireland to receive the Irish version. Davros No offence taken at all, you're absolutely right! (It is a sign of someone with confidence in their view that they don't mind people making fun of it!)
Posted by: IJP Cheers IJP :-D
Posted by: Davros Richard - clicked and the discussion is over - but a great version of Handbags and Gladrags by Mary Coughlan, Cheers!
Posted by: Davros "more than 60k in Northern notes." Pat, I would have thought the opposite. The Northern notes would be the give away and would be spread thinly or even destroyed. The rest of the Sterling, Euros and Dollars would be far easier to deal with. Jim Cusack said on UTV £10m was unconfirmed but at least £2million.
Posted by: Alan2 "come the weekend will still be the largest nationalist party in the north and thus will need to be shown the respect its mandate demands" mickhall, its the Good Friday Agreement that gives the Shinners the entitlement to be included in a future administration with their 25% share of the vote, the problem is thanks to Sinn Fein and the IRA the GFA is virtually dead in the water, the only way to restore its credibility is to go back to its founding principal of all the parties being committed by their actions, not just their words, to non-violence and that includes robberies etc, the irony is that it is the GFA that guarantees Sinn Fein their right to be included in an executive yet an executive will only be re-established if Sinn Fein are excluded until they play by the rules. If nationalists and for that matter republicans aren’t prepared to move on without Sinn Fein, at least temporally, the whole project is down the tubes. 25% of a popular vote in a standard democracy does not entitle Sinn Fein to a say, the Good Friday Agreement does.
Posted by: alex s The Times is naming the Sinn Fein guy arrested: "The arrest in Cork comes after weeks of denials by Sinn Fein that the IRA was involved. Tom Hanlon, who in the past stood for the Irish Parliament as a Sinn Fein candidate and is a former councillor, was arrested with two other men and a woman. Three more men were arrested in Dublin." Maca
Posted by: Jacko Mickhall, what a miserable rallying cry when a bit of introspection is required from republicans. Posted by: Ringo Ringo Did I write something which was untrue, No, I simply stated a fact, what you are calling introspection, others term sackcloth and ashes, hardly helpful. Better to wait for the ROI legal system to do its work. Jacko, I long ago gave up on the broken egg theory of political activity, preferring to see an omelette, no matter how thin it may turn out to be on the first attempt.
Posted by: mickhall Some details on Gavin's Blog and guess what ... SF election agent ....
Posted by: Davros Whoops - hat-tip to Young Irelander's site for the link to Gavin.
Posted by: Davros mickhall
Posted by: Jacko Davros those news sites before are
Posted by: spirit-level The Times of London follows Gavin's scoop, and also names the top SF suspect in custody. It's Tom Hanlon, Passage West councillor and 2002 candidate for TD in Cork South Central. Also election agent to SF's 2004 MEP candidate for South Constituency. Way to go Gavin - I nominate him for the 2005 Dashiell Hammett Investigative Blog Award.
Posted by: Richard Delevan
Posted by: spirit-level
Posted by: spirit-level Careful S-L, you have press reports. Nothing more , nothing less.
Posted by: Davros "So now we have the proof An absolute disgrace S-L Has this man been found guilty of a crime? NO!! What makes you think you have the right to slate someone’s character with out even knowing the full facts? Cavanman was yellow-carded for less
Posted by: cg Irish Times leads (no subs req bc frontpage) with it (though doesn't name Hanlon, he's readily identifiable). And adds these juicy titbits:
Posted by: Richard Delevan There's something unreal about all of this, reads like something from Conan Doyle or one of those B&W Gangster films here spinning newspapers have headlines "Sensational developments in XYZ case ".
Posted by: Davros mickhall What im saying is there will still be a need for a peace process of some sort or other. Can't we just have peace? The never-ending "process" is very tiresome and costly. SF, come the weekend will still be the largest nationalist party in the north and thus will need to be shown the respect its mandate demands. Should the BNP be shown the respect its mandate demands in Burnley? Should the French National Front be shown the respect its mandate demands in France?
Posted by: willowfield cg We can get to the trial and beyond with the party line butother than amusing people it wouldn't achieve much. The time hascome to decide what kind of party Sinn Fein wants to be. Republicans can't be criminals the man said. What I want to know is can criminals be republicans. I won't be voting Sinn Fein again unless I get a satisfactory answer to that question. Did the IRA lie to Martin McGuinness or did Martin McGuinness lie to the rest of us? Either way I'm sick of it.
Posted by: Henry94 Perhaps it is time for the Southern parties to organise up North?
Posted by: Alan2 Alan2 I think it is.
Posted by: Henry94 Gonzo, 'According to one normally-reliable source, some of the serial numbers match notes stolen from the Northern Bank. I am treating this cautiously right now, so if I get independent confirmation, I'll let you know.' Excellent post Gonzo, just enough wriggle room to let you off the hook if the story is crap but enough to be able to claim a scoop. BTW real examination of the notes will begin when they are transferred to Garda HQ in Dublin mid Friday morning. Richard, 'Last night a man walked into Anglesea Street Garda station in Cork and handed gardaí more than £200,000 in cash. He is believed to have been given the money to hide by one of those arrested.'
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon Pat RTE had it this morning. Where do you think we go from here?
Posted by: Henry94 Can there be a better opportunity for the RM to set P O'Neil on his long boat, throw on the torches and push him out into the Fjiord.
Posted by: Alan Bathwater/Baby : SF/Leadership Struggle between Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde.
Posted by: Davros The fledgling newspaper Daily Ireland will not be affected because one of it’s directors was arrested in connection with money laundering – Discuss.
Posted by: smcgiff smcgiff He wasn't arrested.
Posted by: Henry94 It could all just be subtle manipulation to force disbandment of the Provos of course. I really hope this doesnt lead to a long hot summer after all the work done by all sides of the community over past years.
Posted by: Alan2 As a SF supporter, I think the terrible vista opening up for the leadership is going to have to cause some fundamental realignment within the Republican Movement, and possibly another 1997-type split. I think we might see SF recover something out of this if they play their cards right, but anathematising the IRA (which now seems a compelling course of action?) will bring its own dangers.
Posted by: Allrightthinkingpeople The Lord Jesus Christ warned His followers, "Beware of the false prophets, who come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly are ravenous wolves (Matt. 7:15).
Posted by: spirit-level Henry, too early to say as there seems to be a whirlwind of information (sic) flying in all directions. Throughout the day might bring a bit of clarity to the situation.
Not the bible, please.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon ok Pat just fer you ;) Hope there'll be some convictions here
Posted by: spirit-level Allrightthinkingpeople I see the logic of what you are saying, or at least what leads you to saying it, but would make two points. Firstly, it presumes that there are differing views on such criminal activities at leadership level. That, to say the least, is not something that can be presumed.
Posted by: Jacko Great post Jacko It's a simple case of right and wrong All the politicking, McGuiness Ireland awake from opps I'd better get
Posted by: spirit-level Double-take LOL
Posted by: Davros Unrelated to the above post by me : Coincidence ?
Posted by: Davros Even though it warms my heart to see the shinners finally reaping what they have sown over the years, my one big fear is that it will put unionists off talking to republicans for a long time. I used to understand the need for the SF doublespeak and the imaginary barriers they put up between them and the actions of the IRA. But what used to appear as pragmatism, now just looks sleazy. The shinners have definitely 'jumped the shark' in 2005. What is needed now is for new voices to come from republican areas, that are not tainted by this SF sleaze factor. I wouldn't care who they are or what they have done in the past, I just want republicans who talk straight and have no party line they have to stick to. I am sick of SF spin. I can think of Anthony McIntyre, Mick Hall, John Kelly and our own Henry84 for starters. I know they are republicans through and through but they talk straight and they make me want to listen and understand. Our peace process deserves republicans like them.
Posted by: Two Nations Two nations i believe that the republican community will choose its representatives and with fairness its not for unionist to choose for us. On this latest saga give it time the truth will out. If this money was connected to the northern the gards wouldn't need forensic checks all it would take would be a quick look at serial numbers. Lets take five due process and all that.
Posted by: J Kelly J Kelly The police don't know the serial numbers of all the notes. I imagine the new notes will have been destroyed - they are useless.
Posted by: willowfield Two Nations Hopefully not, just put them off talking to right-wing nationalist gangsters masquerading as Irish republican. There are lot of examples of the real thing out there - and that's only north of the border.
Posted by: Jacko Should the BNP be shown the respect its mandate demands in Burnley? Should the French National Front be shown the respect its mandate demands in France?
Willowfield, As much as it sticks in my throat to say it, but yes one does have to respect the democratic mandate of the Front National and the BNP. surly that is what democracy is all about and to bend and twist it, say by banning these Party's is to bend and twist it out of all recognition. Whilst accepting that such Party's have a right, due to their electoral mandate to sit in the council or Parliamentary chambers, the rest of us have an equal right to work towards their demise at the ballot box. Surly if authoritarian and racist Party's gain enough votes to get them elected, then we as democrats are doing something wrong. and we had better find out what it is pretty dam quick. Before it becomes to late, as neither the Party's you mentioned believe in the democratic process. Of course this whole palaver with SF is they have not as yet %100 committed themselves to the democratic process. Myself I have concluded that even if the democratic process is slightly stacked against them, (due to how NI was set up) they have no viable alternative to their full participation in it, not least because that is what the overwhelming majority of the people of the Island of Ireland want. One does not have to be a military strategist to see that to go back fully down the road of armed struggle would be a disaster for republicans. On the recent arrests, it is still possible these have little to do with the bank heist, but it is Bertie flexing his muscles and saying to SF, if you wish to go back/carry on with your old ways, this is your future. If so, maybe we will see one of PIRAs arms dumps rolled up, after the inspections I doubt they are that secret. Finally I agree spinning has to end, when you read that committed SF supporters have their doubts about what they are being told by SF's leadership, one can only conclude beyond their ranks no one believes a word Mr Adams is saying these days.
Posted by: mickhall mickhall As much as it sticks in my throat to say it, but yes one does have to respect the democratic mandate of the Front National and the BNP. OK, so do you think these parties should be included in coalition governments in order to "respect their mandates"? surly that is what democracy is all about and to bend and twist it, say by banning these Party's is to bend and twist it out of all recognition. Not sure where the banning suggestion is coming from. I'm certainly not advocating it.
Posted by: willowfield "Police in Derry were attacked by stone throwers, with one officer being treated for concussion after he was struck on the head."
Posted by: Alan2 Mickhall So, if this money is the proceeds of other crimes other than the Northern Bank it doesn't matter then? It must be only bertie flexing political muscle? As for political mandates, the shinners and others talk as though the mandate allows them to do just as they please and as if it is a permanent thing. Neither is the case.
Posted by: Jacko Garda Commissioner Noel Conroy has said suspected members of the Provisional IRA and a dissident republican are among those arrested in connection with yesterday's seizures of sterling and euro cash in Dublin and Cork.
Posted by: Henry94 "On the recent arrests, it is still possible these have little to do with the bank heist, but it is Bertie flexing his muscles" Probably both. 'So, if this money is the proceeds of other crimes other than the Northern Bank it doesn't matter then? It must be only bertie flexing political muscle?' The IRA exists as a very complex organisation with a very wide logistical set up. Of course it has loads of money, didn't everyone know that.
With a mandate you do have responsibilities, while not permanent it is there for the forseeable future.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon Pat
Posted by: Jacko maca: "You could be right, though many of the reports are claiming 72 hours." Yeah, everyone is reporting 72 hours alright so you are probably right. "All those arrested are being held under Section 30 of the Offences against the State Act at Garda stations across Cork and Dublin. They can be questioned for 72 hours." ----Irish Times Breaking News I quoted 1939 legislation and it was possibly amended in that flurry of anti-terrorist legislation following the Omagh bombing.
Posted by: James WIllowfield : "Should the French National Front be shown the respect its mandate demands in France?" It should, and it does, though a large part of the population does not agree at all with its' policies. If you read the policies of the NF in france, you will see that they bear a startling resemblance to the DUP and their charismatic leader has an uncanny similarity to Dr NO.
Posted by: ShayPaul Jacko, they've had loads of money for the best part of 30 years. Why is everyone acting so surprised?
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon I see the UUP are having a go at money laundering themselves. A small effort, but everybody starts somewhere. Should they be excluded for criminal activity ?
Posted by: ShayPaul Shay - isn't that a bit risky ?
Posted by: Davros Only if he gets caught.
Posted by: ShayPaul Ferguson always came across as a decent spud.
Posted by: Pat Mc Larnon
Posted by: ShayPaul
Posted by: ShayPaul The key question is why was Tom Hanlon arrested. He has been released without charge but his arrest was used to link Sinn Fein to what otherwise looks like a dissident operation. The only person charged so far is an alleged rira member. None of those who have had files about them sent to the DPP have any connection to Sinn Fein. There is a bad smell from this.
Posted by: Henry94 ShayPaul Since mickhall hasn't answered, I'll ask you the same question. Since you agree that the "mandate" of the French NF should be "respected", do you believe that this should involve inclusion in a coalition government, which Provos in NI seem to believe is the test of such "respect"?
Posted by: willowfield Post a comment
|
Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland. Produced by Mick Fealty News, tips or crits here: mick.fealty -at- gmail.com Topics a long peace?books Britain Conflict Culture Economy Education election 2003 Election 2005 Enviroment environment Europe Gaeilge Glossary Government Highlights Human Rights Humour International Manifesto Media Nationalism Negotiations Parties Policing Soapbox Society Sport the south unionism
Highlights
Out with the crystal ball...Just a Mo... Commenting Policy A backgrounder on the McCartney affair Northern Bank raid and political fallout, so far
Readers comments
More corrupt than last year? - (4)Living on an island or in a state? - (31) a combination of historical ignorance and monumental self-pity - (42) Payout time... - (4) New Lansdowne revealed - (24) Far right 'imagination'... - (13) Nazi comments were a sectarian slur - (3) The price of peacemaking... - (17) belfast metropolitan area plan unveiled - (23) Why (or rather how) Alec Reid was right... - (37)
Archives
October 2005September 2005 August 2005 July 2005 June 2005 May 2005 April 2005 March 2005 February 2005 January 2005 December 2004 November 2004 October 2004 September 2004 July 2004 March 2004 October 2003 September 2003 May 2003 |
|
Design: River Path Associates Comments: Big Blog Co Powered:
Movable Type 3.15 Copyright © 2003 Sluggerotoole.com
All rights reserved.
|
<a href="(URL)">hyperlink</a>
It is important that you include http:// when adding the URL.