Slugger O'Toole Notes on Northern Ireland politics and culture Slugger O'Toole Notes on Northern Ireland politics and culture

You are here
Home | Society | Church to blame for breakdown of families?

Next or Previous
« Adams calls for end to negotiations? | Main | Where's that bandwagon? »

SOS - Save Our Slugger!

Help fund Slugger's new software:

Or mail it direct to Slugger!

Church to blame for breakdown of families?
When I met Eammon McCann for the first time at Leviathan last week I discovered, much to mine and the audience's surprise, that he retains a deep and abiding interest in Ancient Greek and the Cannon Law of the Catholic Church - even if there's little affection for the latter. This week he argues that the Catholic church has had a more corrosive effect on family life than the current target of the Christian right in the US, the sex researcher Alfred Kinsey.

Comments (34)

There is no reason that Alfred Kinsey and the Catholic church cannot both be criticised for their evasion of the reality of child abuse.

There is no reason to suppose that the Christian Right has not also attacked the Roman Catholic church over this very issue many times in the past.

But how kind of Mr McCann to defend Liam Neeson, who I hope will not forget to thank him in person on his next visit home.

Posted by: Peter Reavy [TypeKey Profile Page] at September 30, 2004 03:53 PM

In typical fashion McCann seeks to scapegoat the Catholic Church for the ills of society. His obsessive anti-Catholicism is little different than that of the typical Paisleyite.

But then, much like the Paisleyites he is a fundamentalist, albeit of the Leninist rather than Christian variety. Same disease different manifestation.

How can someone so rigidly sectarian in his politics be taken seriously as an advocate of anti-sectarianism?

Posted by: Christopher Daigle [TypeKey Profile Page] at September 30, 2004 05:14 PM

I thought Eamonn was critical of all forms of organised religion. That's not sectarian, that's equal opportunity atheism.

Posted by: Belfast Gonzo [TypeKey Profile Page] at September 30, 2004 08:23 PM

God help anybody who dares criticise the (RC)church ... it leads to a knee-jerk accusation of sectarianism.

Posted by: Davros [TypeKey Profile Page] at September 30, 2004 08:27 PM

Critics of the RC Church are sectarian .... Zzzzzzzzzzzz

Posted by: willowfield [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 1, 2004 09:08 AM

Critics of the RC Church are sectarian .... Zzzzzzzzzzzz

Most Rice Crispies in the South are pretty critical of the RC church. Does that make them sectarian ?

Posted by: joc [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 1, 2004 10:00 AM

I thought Eamonn was critical of all forms of organised religion. That's not sectarian, that's equal opportunity atheism.

Correct - generally Eamonn puts all the ills of society thru the ages at the hands of religion (conveniently forgetting of course that some of the worst purges took place at the hands of committed atheists).

Personally, I think the problems are to do with people.....

Posted by: joc [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 1, 2004 10:09 AM

I would suggest that in respect of Ireland History supports Eamonn.

Posted by: Davros [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 1, 2004 10:12 AM

Most Rice Crispies in the South are pretty critical of the RC church. Does that make them sectarian ?

Who/what are Rice Crispies?

Whoever they are, you'd better ask Christopher Daigle if they are sectarian.

Posted by: willowfield [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 1, 2004 10:21 AM

``generally Eamonn puts all the ills of society thru the ages at the hands of religion''

I would have said he puts the ills of various societies down to the inherent iniquities of human power structures. Of which organised religion has been and continues to be one very salient example, though by no means the only one.

As for Leninist, have you ever heard or read any of Eamonn's thoughts on Soviet Russia? Clearly not. A typically broad brush approach to the left, so characteristic of those who know nothing about it.

Posted by: Billy Pilgrim [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 04:33 PM

Incidentally, it is not good enough to compare Paisley with McCann on the grounds that they are the two great public speakers Northern Ireland has produced in the last half century or so.

Paisley's demagogic technique has been to appeal to the worst instincts and prejudices of his audience, substituting noise for substance and ultimately leading his flock nowhere.

McCann is the opposite: he has consistently attempted to appeal to the finest and noblest instincts in his audience, and still does to this day, despite his long tenancy as the voice in the wilderness. His arguments are as substantial as they are powerfully delivered. Sadly his audience has not deserved him. He has no flock to lead, which is a great tragedy.

That McCann should be the outsider and Paisley the strongman of NI politics is as stark an indictment of the NI electorate - both those who choose Paisley and those across the fence without whom a Paisley would not be possible - as you'll find.

Posted by: Billy Pilgrim [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 04:42 PM

"Rice Crispies" joc? The latest disparaging term?
Like calling Jehovah Witnesses "Bon Jovis"? ;)

Posted by: maca [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 05:04 PM

Rice Crispies - as in RCs, right?

Trouble is, aren't Rice Krispies spelt with a K?

Posted by: Billy Pilgrim [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 05:07 PM

My girlfriend from Bandit Country (S Armagh) used to refer to Rice Crispies :) But you are right , they do have a K Billy.

Just watched a Brillian show on BBC based on super 8's - old home movies- Short Strand and Strabane in the 50's and 60's , an Irish band called the Carpet baggers, the old club and dance scene . Brilliant!

McCann is a good lad ! He got my votes at the last election.

Posted by: Davros [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 06:42 PM

This is an excellent article in Todays Sunday Times, by Lynne Kelleher, that helps answer Mick's original post

O'Casey was agony aunt too

"While Americans wrote to O’Casey in the 1950s to say they were depressed about the prospect of nuclear war, many Irish women complained to him about the oppressiveness of the Catholic church. Shivaun O’Casey found the correspondence while researching a television documentary on her father’s life.

The playwright, who fled Ireland for England in the 1920s, often got letters simply addressed to Sean O’Casey, Devon.

The most moving correspondence, which lasted more than three years, was with an unmarried mother who was distraught when her child was taken from her by nuns.

“He told her he knew other women who had been forced to give up their children,” said Shivaun. “He sympathised. They both said they hoped it would never happen again.”

O’Casey also corresponded with a woman who had been made to take a vow of chastity by a bishop in England. “I think it was because she was very pretty and very sexual,” said Shivuan, the playwright’s youngest child.

The woman signed herself Sheila, or just S, in her letters because she didn’t want to be identified. O’Casey based a character in The Bishop’s Bonfire on her plight. When it was first staged in 1955, the play led to rioting outside the Gaiety theatre in Dublin due to its “blasphemous” content.

O’Casey was very liberal in his outlook, believing abortion should be a woman’s decision, and healthcare and schooling should be free for everybody. There are many references in the correspondence to the dominance of the Catholic church in Ireland after the second world war, and the resulting ban on contraceptives that forced hundreds of girls to travel from Ireland to Britain for abortions."

Posted by: Davros [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 06:49 PM

"Shivaun" what a way to completely bastardise a name, I hope i'm actually wrong and it's an original name, not a screwed up Siobhán.

Thanks for the article Davros.

Posted by: maca [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 06:56 PM

I'll send you the whole thing :)

Shivaun seems to be an acceptable variant of Siobhán which according to one Irish website is a 'bastardised' version of the French "Jehanne".
Hadn't heard of the US versions "Chavonne" and "ShaVaughn".

Posted by: Davros [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 08:24 PM

Davros

McCann is a good lad ! He got my votes at the last election.

Has the property franchise come back?

Posted by: willowfield [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 09:25 PM

Nope :) I cast two perfectly proper and legal votes.

Posted by: Davros [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 09:37 PM

"Shivaun seems to be an acceptable variant of Siobhán which according to one Irish website is a 'bastardised' version of the French "Jehanne".
Hadn't heard of the US versions "Chavonne" and "ShaVaughn"."

It gives me the shivers ;)

Posted by: maca [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 09:42 PM

God forgive us savages, but when I was at Dungannon we had a kid who was born in Canada whose Ulster Ma named him "Shaun" ... he was known as "seen the lepre'heen"

Posted by: Davros [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 09:53 PM

Oh, before I go to watch little Britain...

Knock Knock

Posted by: Davros [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 09:54 PM

"we had a kid who was born in Canada whose Ulster Ma named him "Shaun" ... he was known as "seen the lepre'heen""

Actually I don't get it. How do ye pronounce "Shaun"

Who's there?

Posted by: maca [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 10:15 PM

T'was pronounced seen as in "where have you been" ?

Siobhán

Posted by: Davros [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 10:49 PM

Siobhán who?

(this better not be lame Davros)

Posted by: maca [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 10:59 PM

Siobhán yer knickers, here comes yer ma!

Posted by: Davros [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 11:12 PM

Good one ;))

Posted by: maca [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 11:14 PM

I'll e mail you a couple of other cultural ones, slightly ruder ... I don't think Mick would appreciate it if I posted them ;)

Posted by: Davros [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 11:19 PM

whoops , I did send you them already !

Posted by: Davros [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 11:21 PM

I'm sure Mick has a good sense of humour ;)

Posted by: maca [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 3, 2004 11:29 PM

Question...is "blurt" slang for weeping ?

Liam O'Flaherty, 'Patsa' -

"She was noted by the peculiar capacity she had for blurting at will. Indeed, small boys used to call after her: 'Blurt for us , Nuala.' "

Posted by: Davros [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 4, 2004 01:39 AM

I wouldn't say it's the primary definition but I guess it could be used that way.

brainy dict. | freesearch

Posted by: maca [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 4, 2004 07:08 AM

"I thought Eamonn was critical of all forms of organised religion. That's not sectarian, that's equal opportunity atheism."
Posted by: Belfast Gonzo at September 30, 2004 08:23 PM

He's critical of all forms of institutional religion except his own. Marxism/Leninism can be, and often is, a secular religion. For example:
1. It has a founding prophetic figure (Marx).
2. An extensive canon of scripture including Marx, Lenin, and depending on the sectarian allegiance Stalin, Trotsky, and so on. Including a wide body of "scriptural exegesis" including figures like Adorno, Gramsci, Marcuse etc.
3. Heretics, for example "the traitor" Kautsky,or Stalin and/or Trotsky depending on the sectarian allegiance (Maoist, Stalinist, Trotskyist etc.)
4. an apocolyptic end-times (M/L refer to this as the international worker's revolution which paralells the messianism found in many traditional religions)
5. An idealized vision of a future society called the "worker's republic", paralelling the Christian Kingdom of Heaven.
6. "holy martyrs" (Trotsky and the other Bolsheviks murdered by Stalin.
7. In the case of one Trotskyist sect in the Latin America there is/was even an example of the veneration of relics. In this case Trotsky's death mask.
8. Trotskyists can be strongly evangelical. For example selling newspapers regularly in an attempt to win new members (converts).
9. The party (the church) as a hierarchically controlled body of like minded cadre (the faith community)with a system of branches (the parish) all the way us to the central committee (the curia).
10. There is the same splits found in traditional religion between the purists (Leninist/Trotskyists) and syncretists (Social Democracy).

McCann can condemn religion all he likes, but whether he can see it or not, he is an intensely religious man himself.

Posted by: Christopher Daigle [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 5, 2004 09:54 PM

As for Leninist, have you ever heard or read any of Eamonn's thoughts on Soviet Russia? Clearly not. A typically broad brush approach to the left, so characteristic of those who know nothing about it.
---------------------

I'm sorry but there is far more to the left than Eamonn McCann or is he also infallible?
I am very much aware of McCann's views on the Soviet Union and more pertinently how dependent he is on Tony Cliff for his analysis.
Be that as it may the question of the nature of the Soviet Union as deformed workers state, socialist, bureaucratic collectivist, or bureaucratic state capitalist is irrelevant to this discussion.

I personally think that there is a great deal of value in Lenin's and Trotsky's theoretical analysis.
My biggest criticism of most Leninists though, is certainly not that they are Leninists, but rather the very rigid and dogmatic approach that they bring to Lenin (and Trotsky).
The IST are a little better in that their founding figure had enough sense and ability for critical thinking to recognize that Trotsky's theoretical analysis of the Soviet Union was seriously lacking.
But the fact remains that even the most sensible tendency within Leninism (the IST)by their dogmatic rigidity probably alienate dozens if not hundreds of people from Leninism for every one person they attract to it.

Posted by: Christopher Daigle [TypeKey Profile Page] at October 5, 2004 10:26 PM

Post a comment

Remember Me?

(you may use HTML tags for style)

NOTE: When adding hyperlinks, please follow this format:
<a href="(URL)">hyperlink</a>
It is important that you include http:// when adding the URL.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path

News, tips or crits here: mick.fealty -at- gmail.com
(change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy

Topics
a long peace?
books
Britain
Conflict
Culture
Economy
Education
election 2003
Election 2005
Enviroment
environment
Europe
Gaeilge
Glossary
Government
Highlights
Human Rights
Humour
International
Manifesto
Media
Nationalism
Negotiations
Parties
Policing
Soapbox
Society
Sport
the south
unionism

Highlights
Out with the crystal ball...
Just a Mo...
Commenting Policy
A backgrounder on the McCartney affair
Northern Bank raid and political fallout, so far

Readers comments
More corrupt than last year? - (4)
Living on an island or in a state? - (31)
a combination of historical ignorance and monumental self-pity - (42)
Payout time... - (4)
New Lansdowne revealed - (24)
Far right 'imagination'... - (13)
Nazi comments were a sectarian slur - (3)
The price of peacemaking... - (17)
belfast metropolitan area plan unveiled - (23)
Why (or rather how) Alec Reid was right... - (37)

Archives
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005
June 2005
May 2005
April 2005
March 2005
February 2005
January 2005
December 2004
November 2004
October 2004
September 2004
July 2004
March 2004
October 2003
September 2003
May 2003

Design: River Path Associates Comments: Big Blog Co Powered: Movable Type 3.15 Copyright © 2003 Sluggerotoole.com All rights reserved.